This is the "Home" page of the "Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Books  

Last Updated: Jul 10, 2013 URL: http://libguides.law.drake.edu/FindingBooks Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Catalog - START HERE

Search the Library Catalog (Use the catalog to find books, journal holdings, videos, etc.)

  • The catalog will indicate if the Law Library or Cowles Library owns an item, its location and call number, and whether it is checked out or on the shelf.
  • Ask Information Desk staff if you want to place a hold on an item that is checked out or need assistance using the catalog. See also these basic catalog instructions.

Law Library Locator Guide

The Locator Guide allows you to look up the title of a major legal publication and determine the floor and shelf number where the publication may be found. It also lists the call numbers associated with select subject areas.

Contact Us!

Questions? Problems? Contact one of our friendly reference librarians.

Additional Sites to Locate Books

  • Iowa Locator
    A combined catalog of items in the collections of over 700 Iowa libraries. Searching the Iowa Locator allows quick access to many libraries at once, although listings may not be as complete as directly searching an individual library's catalog.
  • OCLC WorldCat  Icon  Icon
    A combined catalog of a large number of libraries around the world. If you find a good source here, double-check our catalog to make sure we don't have it - then request it via Interlibrary Loan.
  • The Making of Modern Law  Icon
    A searchable collection of full text PDF images from more than 21,000 Anglo-American legal treatises from 1800 - 1926.
  • Lexis Advance  Icon
    Offers full-text access to selected books. Users must log in with individual IDs. Use the "Browse Sources" tool within Lexis to search for a specific title.
  • Westlaw  Icon
    Offers full-text access to selected books. Users must log in with individual IDs. Search the directory for the desired title.

Other Options

Other databases may also index books or even provide the complete text of books. Please consult these links or ask a reference librarian for additional options or assistance.

Interlibrary Loan

If you find a book you need but it isn't available on campus, request it via Interlibrary Loan.  Click on your status below for the procedures specific to your user group.

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2615 Carpenter Ave • Des Moines, Iowa 50311
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip