Welcome
Form books provide sample forms or sample drafting language and information about their use. These examples can help you get started drafting. You’ll want to make sure you understand the relevant primary law and demands of your jurisdiction and adapt forms accordingly.
See Finding Library Materials for more information on how to find materials referenced in this guide.
Iowa Form Books
Iowa Code Annotated (or Code of Iowa or Iowa Rules of Court)
Library location: Ready Reference, Iowa Wing KFI4230 (or KFI4729. A2)
The Code of Iowa and Iowa Rules of Court both include some Iowa-specific forms. The easiest way to locate these, however, is to use the index to the Iowa Code Annotated, which also reproduces forms from both the Code and the court rules.
IowaDocs Form Manual
Library location: Reserve (Information Desk) KFI4268 .I6 2005
The Iowa State Bar Association produces this collection of sample Iowa legal forms. The library has a paper set. Individual practitioners can also purchase it electronically from the ISBA as fill-in forms (IOWADOCS).
Iowa Rules Civil Procedure Annotated forms volumes
Library location: Reserve, Iowa Wing KFI 4729.A315 W4 (complete text in Iowa wing)
Although no longer being published (the last update was released in 2002), these books may still provide a useful starting point for drafting civil procedure forms.
More Books
Books on particular legal subjects may also contain related forms. See the library's Legal Writing and Practice Materials guides for a list of other sources to consider, notably the Iowa State Bar Association manuals and the Iowa Practice Series.
In the library catalog, locate other works with forms, by a) doing a subject search for Forms (Law) or b) doing a catalog search that includes “forms” in the “words or phrase” box and a word describing your subject in the subject box, title box, or another “words or phrase” box.
General Form Books
American Jurisprudence Legal Forms 2d
Library location: Reference
This set offers more than 22,000 legal forms arranged alphabetically by topic. It includes research references, drafting guides, notes on use, and a separate Federal Tax Guide to Legal Forms. It has a multi-volume general index.
American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms
Library location: Reference
This set includes thousands of litigation forms with procedural timetables and drafting checklists. There is a multi-volume general index.
Bender's Forms of Discovery
Library location: Reference
The set includes sample interrogatories arranged alphabetically by subject along with a text that covers discovery more broadly. There are separate indexes for the forms and the text.
The Essential Formbook: Comprehensive Management Tools for Lawyers
Library location: Reserve KF318 .M85 2000
This four-volume set provides forms related to conducting legal business. It covers partnership and organizational agreements; client intake; fees, billing and collection; human resources; file management; firm financial analysis; disaster planning and professional liability.
Federal Procedural Forms
Library location: KF8836 .F4
This set offers forms for federal judicial and administrative matters. It includes references to primary law and research resources and has a multi-volume general index.
Gale Legal Forms
This database offers access to a variety of forms, including real estate contracts, wills, premarital agreements, leases, business sales, and many others. (Off-campus access requires Drake credentials to log in.)
Nichols Cyclopedia of Legal Forms Annotated
Library location: KF170 .N5
Forms are preceded by background text and notes, research and drafting aids, and a drafting checklist. The set has a multi-volume general index and a table indicating forms relevant to different Internal Revenue Code sections.
West’s Federal Forms
Library location: KF8836 .W4
In addition to detailed examples of federal forms (most taken from real practice), the set offers a fair amount of commentary to guide the practitioner as well as background on federal court structure and processes. The volumes are organized by court: Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, District Courts, Bankruptcy, Admiralty, National Courts, and Tax Court. There are separate volume indexes for each court as well as a single volume general index.
West's Legal Forms 2d
Library location: Reference
Arranged by area of law, this set offers a variety of legal forms with commentary, analysis, checklists, and research references. Each subject has its own index; there is also a multi-volume general index.

Loading...
