This is the "Home" page of the "LexisNexis & Westlaw Search Techniques" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LexisNexis & Westlaw Search Techniques   Tags: connectors, legal_research, lexisnexis, search_techniques, westlaw  

Comparing and contrasting Lexis & Westlaw search techniques and content as well as finding the right database and primary differences between the two databases.
Last Updated: Sep 8, 2011 URL: http://libguides.law.drake.edu/LexisWest Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Primary Differences

  1. For searches, Lexis assumes a phrase, Westlaw assumes “or.” (e.g., Statute of Limitations - Lexis looks for the phrase, Westlaw looks for statute or of or limitations.) Westlaw will only read a phrase if you put it in quotes.
  2. Lexis and Westlaw use different indicators for segment searches. (e.g., for case name: Lexis: Name(roe and wade) ; Westlaw: ti(roe and wade).
  3. Lexis does not allow using /n in the same search as /s or /p, but Westlaw does. (e.g., unnatural /3 accumulation /s snow).
 

Search Techniques

 

LexisNexis

Westlaw

Connectors

 

 

both terms must be present

& or and

& or and

either term must be present

or

space between words

terms must be in same sentence

w/s or /s

/s or w/s

terms must be in same paragraph

w/p or /p

/p or w/p

terms must be within n words

w/n or /n

/n or w/n

combine /n with /s or /p in the same search

Does not allow (e.g., unnatural /3 accumulation /s snow)

Allows (e.g., unnatural /3 accumulation /s snow)

search for exact phrase

written normally (Lexis assumes a phrase) or in quotations

must be in quotations

exclude a term or terms

and not  ; not w/#

% ; but  not

Truncation

 

 

any number of letters (at end)

!

!

any single letter or letters

*  or  **  (e.g., g**se would find goose or geese)

*  or **

plurals

plural forms are searched automatically (e.g., lawyer, lawyers); irregular plurals are not (e.g., goose, geese); to stop Westlaw from adding an s to your search term, add # before the word (e.g., #lawyer)

plural forms are searched automatically (e.g., lawyer, lawyers); irregular plurals are not (e.g., goose, geese)

hyphenated words

hyphen is read as a space, so hyphenated words are seen as two words (e.g., pre-trial = pre-trial or pre trial but not pretrial)

hyphenated form retrieves all variations of compound words (e.g., pre-trail = pre-trial, pre trial, pretrial)

abbreviations, acronyms

recognizes all variations of state abbreviations and many acronyms.  Must type I.R.S. or IRS

use periods and no spaces to retrieve all variations (e.g., i.r.s. = IRS, I.R.S., I R S, I. R. S.

Search within a Search

Focus

Locate

Find a Known Citation

Get a Document

Find

 

Content Differences

 

LexisNexis

Westlaw

Citator

Shepard’s—has ALR annotations and law reviews (the latter as far back as 1957)

KeyCite—has ALR annotations and law reviews available online; usually has more extensive coverage of recent law reviews as well as legal encyclopedias and treatises

United States Code (USC)

No, but has annotated United States Code Service (USCS) (numerous cases only appear here)

Yes, unannotated and annotated United States Code Annotated (USCA) (usually have more extensive annotations)

Slip Laws & Session Laws

USCS Advance

United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN)

Organization

Not numbers like West but subject headnotes

Headnote and Key Number system

Supreme Court Opinions

Supreme Court Reporter

United States Supreme Court Reports, Laywers’ Edition

Legal Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence

American Jurisprudence & Corpus Juris Secundum

 

Finding the Right Database

 

LexisNexis

Westlaw

Comprehensive Outline of Databases

First page is organized into 3 sections: Legal; News & Business; Public Records

Click “Directory” in the top header

Custom Research Tabs—Show Databases for a Jurisdiction or Topic

“Add/edit Subtabs”

“Add a Tab”

Search for a Database or Source

“Find a Source” under the Search tab

Type a database identifier or source description into the “Search these Databases” box

Use a template to identify appropriate databases for popular resources or search tasks

Guided Search Form

 Available templates vary by resource type


Law Library Home · Library Hours · Directions · Ask A Librarian
Drake University Law Library • 2615 Carpenter Ave • Des Moines, Iowa 50311
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip