Skip to main content

Legal Abbreviations: Common Abbreviations

A to Z

This page notes the abbreviation (followed by series designation, as applicable), full title and coverage for some of the most heavily used legal resources.

 Abbreviation

 Title

Description/Coverage

A.
A.2d
A.3d

Atlantic Reporter

Regional reporter containing cases from CT, DE, D.C., ME, MD, NH, NJ, PA, RI, VT; printed in three series

Am. Jur.
Am. Jur. 2d

American Jurisprudence

Legal encyclopedia that provides case citations and cross references to other resources

A.L.R.
A.L.R.2d
A.L.R.3d
A.L.R.4th
A.L.R.5th
A.L.R.6th
A.L.R. Fed.

American Law Reports

Article series that provides in-depth coverage of legal topics; provides case citations and cross references; printed in multiple series, including a Federal series

Cal. Rptr.
Cal. Rptr. 2d
Cal. Rptr. 3d

California Reporter

Reporter containing cases from CA; printed in three series

C.F.R.

Code of Federal Regulations

Official code of in-force rules and regulations passed by federal agencies; arranged by agency and then by topic

C.J.S.

Corpus Juris Secundum

Legal encyclopedia that provides case citations; uses West key number system

F.
F.2d
F.3d

Federal Reporter

Reporter containing U.S. Court of Appeals cases; printed in three series

Fed. Appx.

Federal Appendix

Reporter containing U.S. Court of Appeals cases not selected for publication in the Federal Reporter; coverage begins in 2001

F.R.D.

Federal Rules Decisions

Reporter containing U.S. District Court cases construing the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure and the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

F. Supp.
F. Supp. 2d
F. Supp. 3d

Federal Supplement

Reporter containing U.S. District Court cases

Fed. Reg.

Federal Register

Official daily publication providing rules, proposed rules and notices from federal agencies, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents

Iowa

Iowa Reports

Official reporter for Iowa cases from 1855-1968

IAB or Iowa Admin. Bull.

Iowa Administrative Bulletin

Iowa abbreviation, followed by the Bluebook and ALWD citation manuals. Official biweekly publication containing notices of intended actions on Iowa state agency rules, new filed rules, some Proclamations and Executive orders of the Governor and other administrative materials

IAC or Iowa Admin. Code

Iowa Administrative Code

Iowa abbreviation, followed by the Bluebook and ALWD citation manuals. Official code of in-force Iowa state agency rules and regulations; arranged by department and then by topic

Iowa Acts

Acts and Joint Resolutions of Iowa

Official session law publication containing laws passed by the Iowa General Assembly

Iowa Code

Code of Iowa

Official code providing topical arrangement of laws passed by the Iowa General Assembly

I.C.A. or Iowa Code Ann.

Iowa Code Annotated

Annotated version of the Iowa Code; provides references to other resources; published by West

L. Ed.
L. Ed. 2d

United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition

Reporter containing U.S. Supreme Court cases; editors add headnote annotations; printed in two series

N.E.
N.E.2d
N.E.3d

North Eastern Reporter

Regional reporter containing cases from IL, IN, MA, NY, OH; printed in three series

N.W.
N.W.2d

North Western Reporter

Regional reporter containing cases from IA, MI, MN, NE, ND, SD, WI; printed in two series

N.Y.S.
N.Y.S.2d

New York Supplement

Reporter containing cases from New York; printed in two series

P.
P.2d
P.3d

Pacific Reporter

Regional reporter containing cases from AK, AZ, CA, CO, HIO, ID, KS, MT, NV, NM, OK, OR, UT, WA, WY; printed in three series

S. Ct.

West's Supreme Court Report

Reporter containing U.S. Supreme Court cases; uses West key numbers; editors add headnote annotations

S.E.
S.E.2d

South Eastern Reporter

Regional reporter containing cases from GA, NC, SC, VA, WV; printed in two series

So. or S.
So. 2d or S.2d
So. 3d or S.3d

Southern Reporter

The Bluebook citation manual abbreviation, followed by the ALWD Citation Manual abbreviation. Regional reporter containing cases from AL, FL, LA, MS; printed in three series

Stat.

Statutes at Large

Official session law publication containing laws passed by Congress

S.W.
S.W.2d
S.W.3d

South Western Reporter

Regional Reporter containing cases from AR, KY, MO, TN, TX; printed in three series

U.S.

United States Reports

Official reporter containing U.S. Supreme Court cases

U.S.C.

United States Code

Topical arrangement of laws passed by Congress

U.S.C.A.

United States Code Annotated

Annotated version of the U.S. Code; provides cross references to other resources; published by West

U.S.C.S.

United States Code Service

Annotated version of the U.S. Code; provides cross references to other resources; published by Lexis

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2507 University Ave. • Des Moines, Iowa 50311