Banner Image

Law Faculty Publishing: Getting Published

Introduction

This guide connects you to publishing advice, submission guidelines for various journals and tools to help you decide where to submit. It also provides information on copyright, reprint permissions and resources for emipirical research.

Post Your Work Online

For information on posting your work to ExpressO, BePress or SSRN, see the Electronic Publishing page.

Forums for Scholarship

•  Attend smaller academic conferences in your fields

•  Book review opportunities

•  Calls for papers to conferences

•  Develop your own conference idea

•  Faculty workshops

•  International associations in various fields

•  Op Eds

•  Other professional or academic groups related to your fields

•  Other professors as readers of your drafts

Rankings and Subject Lists

Submission Guidelines

Reference Assistance

During the regular academic year, reference librarians are typically available Monday - Thursday 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. and Friday 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. to provide research assistance. Consult the reference schedule for the most current information.

Rebecca Lutkenhaus (271-2053, rebecca.lutkenhaus@drake.edu)
Karen Wallace (271-2989, karen.wallace@drake.edu)
David Hanson (271-2077, david.hanson@drake.edu)
Deborah Sulzbach (271-3784, deborah.sulzbach@drake.edu)
Julie Thomas (271-2052, julie.thomas@drake.edu)
John Edwards (271-2141, john.edwards@drake.edu)

 

Advice on Publishing

Articles on Law Journal Rankings

Confirm Indexing and Access to Maximize Impact

The more widely available a source is, the greater the likelihood it will be read and cited. As a result, you may want to investigate where a specific publication is indexed or accessible in full-text. Suggested resources to check include:

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2615 Carpenter Ave • Des Moines, Iowa 50311