Measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels by showing the relationship between citing and cited journals available in the Web of Science database. Choose law under the "select categories" menu on the left to see rankings of the academic law journals included.
This site from the Washington and Lee School of Law allows authors "to identify law journals by subject, country, or journal rank (where available), to display journal editorial information, and to facilitate an author's article submission to those journals."
Maintained by Allen Rostron and Nancy Levit, this publication provides "information about submitting articles to law reviews and journals, including the methods for submitting an article, any special formatting requirements, how to contact them to request an expedited review, and how to contact them to withdraw an article from consideration."
Confirm Indexing and Access to Maximize Impact
The more widely available a source is, the greater the likelihood it will be read and cited. As a result, you may want to investigate where a specific publication is indexed or accessible in full-text. Suggested resources to check include:
(Marion Gould Gallagher Library, University of Washington School of Law) CILP is a weekly email index of current articles from over 500 legal publications. The index is organized by subject, and complete tables of contents for all indexed journals are available. To receive a customized "SmartCILP" email each week that focuses only on the subject headings and journals you are interested in, please contact David Hanson at x2077.
HeinOnline is a searchable and browsable PDF collection of primary and secondary legal materials. The collection includes: law journals; federal materials; state materials; international materials; treatises and historical documents. Search all HeinOnline databases
Legal Periodicals Full Text indexes 1000+ journals from 1981-date, with full text coverage of more than 250 journals beginning in 1995. Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides index coverage from 1908-1981 to more than 750 journals. EBSCO Help Guides