This is the "Getting Published" page of the "Law Faculty Publishing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Faculty Publishing  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.law.drake.edu/facpub Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Published Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide connects you to publishing advice, submission guidelines for various journals and tools to help you decide where to submit. It also provides information on copyright, reprint permissions and resources for emipirical research.

 

Post Your Work Online

For information on posting your work to ExpressO, BePress or SSRN, see the Electronic Publishing page.

 

Forums for Scholarship

Deciding Where to Publish

  • Law Journals Index
    Washburn School of Law maintains this annotated listing of law journals.
  • Legal Scholarship Blog
    Posts a variety of information about legal scholarship including calls for papers and details about upcoming conferences.
  • Ulrich's International Periodical Directory
    Ulrichs provides detailed information on over 300,000 periodicals including academic and scholarly journals in over 900 subject areas including law.

Submission Guidelines

  • Law Reviews that are Temporarily Full
    The list indicates which journals aren't currently accepting new submissions through BePress's Expresso service.
  • Law Journals: Submissions and Ranking
    This site from the Washington and Lee School of Law allows authors "to identify law journals by subject, country, or journal rank (where available), to display journal editorial information, and to facilitate an author's article submission to those journals."
  • Law Review Article Length Limits and Preferences
    The Emory School of Law Library put together this list of contact information and submission guidelines for the 35 most-cited general legal periodicals in the U.S.
  • Submission Guide for Online Law Review Supplements
    This guide, maintained by Colin Miller at the University of South Carolina School of Law, offers information about submitting essays and articles to general online law review supplements.
 

Reference Assistance

During the regular academic year, reference librarians are typically available Monday - Thursday 8 a.m. - 9 p.m. and Friday 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. to provide research assistance. Consult the reference schedule for the most current information.

Rebecca Lutkenhaus (271-2053, rebecca.lutkenhaus@drake.edu)
Karen Wallace (271-2989, karen.wallace@drake.edu)
David Hanson (271-2077, david.hanson@drake.edu)
Deborah Sulzbach (271-3784, deborah.sulzbach@drake.edu)
Julie Thomas (271-2052, julie.thomas@drake.edu)
John Edwards (271-2141, john.edwards@drake.edu)

 

 

Advice on Publishing

 

Articles on Law Journal Rankings

Confirm Indexing and Access to Maximize Impact

The more widely available a source is, the greater the likelihood it will be read and cited. As a result, you may want to investigate where a specific publication is indexed or accessible in full-text. Suggested resources to check include:

  • Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)  Icon
    (Marion Gould Gallagher Library, University of Washington School of Law) CILP is a weekly email index of current articles from over 500 legal publications. The index is organized by subject, and complete tables of contents for all indexed journals are available. To receive a customized "SmartCILP" email each week that focuses only on the subject headings and journals you are interested in, please contact David Hanson at x2077.
  • HeinOnline Collection  Icon
    HeinOnline is a searchable and browsable PDF collection of primary and secondary legal materials. The collection includes: law journals; federal materials; state materials; international materials; treatises and historical documents.

    Search all HeinOnline databases

    HeinOnline Help Guide
  • Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text and Retrospective (EBSCO)  Icon
    Legal Periodicals Full Text indexes 1000+ journals from 1981-date, with full text coverage of more than 250 journals beginning in 1995. Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides index coverage from 1908-1981 to more than 750 journals.
    EBSCO Help Guides
  • Law Reviews and Journals (WestlawNext)  Icon
    UIpon accessing the Law Reviews and Journals page in WestlawNext, click on the Law Reviews and Journals Index link on the right under the heading Tools & Resources, and an alphabetical list of titles included will be displayed.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    Complete back issues in PDF format of scholarly journals covering a variety of subjects. It includes some law journals. It is best for older journals not included in HeinOnline.
  • LegalTrac  Icon
    Offers indexing for all major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty law publications, bar association journals and law-related articles from general interest publications. LegalTrac also includes selective full text for some publications.
    LegalTrac Help Guide
  • Lexis Advance  Icon
    To confirm whether a specific journal is available in full text through Lexis Advance, look for the journal's title under Browse Sources.
  • Ulrich's International Periodical Directory
    Ulrich's is a periodical directory that indicates where publications are indexed or abstracted.

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2615 Carpenter Ave • Des Moines, Iowa 50311
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip