LibGuides: Databases: Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

A

A to Z List of Journals Available Electronically and in Print
This indicates if Drake University offers the full-text of a journal in electronic format or as part of its print collection.

AILALink This link opens in a new window
AILALink is an online research database from the American Immigration Lawyers Association designed specifically for immigration law professionals. The law library's subscription permits three simultaneous users; please click the Sign Out link in the upper right at the conclusion of your research session so others can access the service.

Aspen Online Study Aids
Provides online access to popular study aid resources such as :Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law Outlines, Glannon Guides
and Emanuel CrunchTime.

B

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Links to selected topical resources and practice centers accessible through Bloomberg Law. A law school password will be required to access any of the linked resources.
Bloomberg Law for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Main landing page for Bloomberg Law. Law school password required.

Databases C

CALI - Computer Assisted Legal Instruction Lessons This link opens in a new window
Offers computer-based legal tutorials in a wide variety of legal topics. Please contact David Hanson for an activation code.
CALI Help Guides
Congressional Publications (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from the Congressional Information Service.
Congressional Publications Help Guides
Congressional Publications - Serial Set (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Serial Set includes House and Senate documents and reports since 1789.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window
Content spans 2004-present and covers a variety of subject areas, including economics, environment, foreign affairs, immigration, medicine, civil rights, national security, terrorism and more.
Cowles Library Databases This link opens in a new window
Databases available to all Drake University students/faculty/staff.

Databases E

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Features English-language and foreign-language titles printed during the 18th century. Content covers subjects in the areas of law, humanties, science and social sceince.

Databases F

Fastcase This link opens in a new window
Search federal and state statutes, regulations, case law, constitutions, and court rules; and Iowa workers compensation decisions, civil and criminal jury instructions, and title standards. Includes an authority check tool, an optional interactive timeline for viewing results, and cloud linking that lets you share primary law with anyone, even if they do not have Fastcase access. The Iowa State Bar Association offers Fastcase as a benefit to its members, including law students. Drake Law students can apply for a free ISBA membership with access to Fastcase and other member benefits.

Databases H

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search digitized books and other content. Help pages offer more information.
HeinOnline Collection This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a searchable and browsable PDF collection of primary and secondary legal materials. The collection includes: law journals; federal materials; state materials; international materials; treatises and historical documents.
Search all HeinOnline databases

Databases I

Index to Legal Periodicals and Retrospective (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Legal Periodicals indexes 1000+ journals from 1981-date. Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides index coverage from 1908-1981 to more than 750 journals. (Partial SuperSearch coverage.)
EBSCO Help Guides

Databases L

Law360 This link opens in a new window
Provides current news and expert analysis in legal topic areas.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
Lexis for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Law school password required.
Library Catalog (SuperSearch) This link opens in a new window
Search the Drake Libraries catalog and a variety of article databases for information on a topic.
LLMC (Law Library Microform Consortium) Digital This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to documents related to the United States Executive, Judicial, and Legislative branches.

Databases M

Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises (1800-1926) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to over 22,000 American and British legal treatises from 1800-1926.
Making of Modern Law Help Guide
Making of Modern Law - Primary Sources (1600-1970) This link opens in a new window
Offers online access to early state codes, city charters, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.
Making of Modern Law Help Guide
Making of Modern Law - Trials (1600-1926) This link opens in a new window
A collection of legal transcripts and trial accounts from the courtrooms in America, the British Empire and the world.
Making of Modern Law Help Guide

Databases N

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is no longer available. Please use Westlaw Campus Research

Databases O

OCLC WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A combined catalog of a large number of libraries around the world. If you find a good source here, double-check our catalog to make sure we don't have it - then request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Oxford Scholarship Press (Law) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text e-books in various areas of law.
Oxford Scholarship Press Help Guide

Databases S

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Open access repository for academic research papers and journals.
SSRN Help Guide
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. Data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources are categorized into 21 market sectors.
SuperSearch (Drake Libraries Catalog) This link opens in a new window
Search the Drake Libraries catalog and a variety of article databases for information on a topic.

Databases U

United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
The United Nations Treaty Collection provides full-text access to over 158,000 treaties.
United Nation Treaties Series Help Guide

Databases W

Westlaw for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Law school password required. (Partial SuperSearch coverage.)
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Includes access to federal and state caselaw, statutes, regulations, KeyCite, and news resources.
This is the academic version of Westlaw. It is not the full version of Westlaw, which is available only to Drake Law School students, faculty, and staff. (Partial SuperSearch coverage.)

Off-Campus Access

Most of our databases will require you to login before access can be granted. If prompted, use your nine-digit Drake ID as your username and your campus password in the field provided.

Ask A Librarian

Research Help
Professional librarians are available to assist with your research questions. The current reference schedule can be viewed on the Ask a Librarian page or Library Hours page.

You can email all the reference librarians simultaneously (our recommended approach) using one of these links:
PC/Mac/Android email link or iPhone/iPad email link.

Individual contact information follows:

Alexandra (Lexi) Brennan, 515-271-2052, alexandra.brennan@drake.edu
David Hanson, 515-271-2077, david.hanson@drake.edu
Rebecca Lutkenhaus, 515-271-2053, rebecca.lutkenhaus@drake.edu
Karen Wallace, 515-271-2989, karen.wallace@drake.edu

Databases: Databases A-Z