Introduction
This guide connects you to publishing advice, submission guidelines for various journals and tools to help you decide where to submit. It also provides information on copyright, reprint permissions and resources for emipirical research.
Post Your Work Online
For information on posting your work to ExpressO, Scholastica, the BePress Legal Repository or SSRN, see the Electronic Publishing page.
Forums for Scholarship
- American Bar Association Sections
- American Constitution Society
- American Society of Comparative Law
- Association of American Law Schools Sections
- Attend smaller academic conferences in your fields
- Bar Journals
- Blogs (the Legal Scholarship Blog lists upcoming conferences, workshops, etc.)
- Book review opportunities (Law & Politics online journal for example)
- Calls for papers to conferences
- Develop your own conference idea
- Drake Center for Global Citizenship
- Drake Center for the Humanities
- Faculty workshops
- The Federalist Society
- International associations in various fields
- Iowa Commission on Continuing Legal Education
- Iowa State Bar Association
- LatCrit
- Law and Society Association
- Op Eds
- Other professional or academic groups related to your fields
- Other professors as readers of your drafts
- Society for American Law Teachers (SALT)
Deciding Where to Publish
- Law Journals IndexWashburn School of Law maintains this annotated listing of law journals.
- Legal Scholarship BlogPosts a variety of information about legal scholarship including calls for papers and details about upcoming conferences.
- Ulrich's International Periodical DirectoryUlrichs provides detailed information on over 300,000 periodicals including academic and scholarly journals in over 900 subject areas including law.
Submission Guidelines
- Law Reviews that are Temporarily FullThe list indicates which journals aren't currently accepting new submissions through BePress's Expresso service.
- Law Journals: Submission and RankingThis site from the Washington and Lee School of Law allows authors "to identify law journals by subject, country, or journal rank (where available), to display journal editorial information, and to facilitate an author's article submission to those journals."
- Law Review Article Length Limits and PreferencesThe Emory School of Law Library put together this list of contact information and submission guidelines for the 35 most-cited general legal periodicals in the U.S.
- Law Review Electronic SubmissionsThe Chase College of Law maintains this list of law reviews that accept submissions via email or web uploads.
- Submission Guide for Online Law Review SupplementsThis guide, maintained by Colin Miller at the University of South Carolina School of Law, offers information about submitting essays and articles to general online law review supplements.
Reference Assistance
During the regular academic year, reference librarians are typically available Monday - Thursday 8 a.m. - 9 p.m. and Friday 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. to provide research assistance. Consult the reference schedule for the most current information.
Rebecca Lutkenhaus (271-2053, rebecca.lutkenhaus@drake.edu)
Karen Wallace (271-2989, karen.wallace@drake.edu)
David Hanson (271-2077, david.hanson@drake.edu)
Deborah Sulzbach (271-3784, deborah.sulzbach@drake.edu)
Julie Thomas (271-2052, julie.thomas@drake.edu)
John Edwards (271-2141, john.edwards@drake.edu)
Advice on Publishing
- Leah M. Christensen and Julie A. Oseid, Navigating the Law Review Article Selection Process: An Empirical Study of Those with All the Power - Student Editors, 59 S.C. L. Rev. 175 (2007)
- Columbia Law School Tips on Publishing
- Christian C. Day, In Search of the Read Footnote: Techniques for Writing Legal Scholarship and Having it Published, 6 Legal Writing: J. Legal Writing Inst. 229 (2000)
- Richard Delgado, How to Write a Law Review Article, 20 U.S.F. L. Rev. 445 (1986)
- Brannon P. Denning, Marcia L. McCormick & Jeffrey M. Lipshaw, Becoming a Law Professor: A Candidate's Guide (2010) [Appendix B offers a primer on law review submissions] Law Library KF272 .D46 2010
- Mary L. Dudziak, How (not to) Write an Abstract, Legal History Blog (October 23, 2007), http://legalhistoryblog.blogspot.com/2007/10/how-not-to-write-abstract.html
- Kevin Hopkins, Cultivating Our Emerging Voices: The Road to Scholarship, 20 B.C. Third World L.J. 77 (2000)
- Debra Kaufman, Writing Research Results for Publication, 84 Law Libr. J. 617 (1992)
- David G. Post, Writing Guidelines: General Principles & Rules, Beasley School of Law, Temple University (last revised August, 2012)
- Gail Levin Richmond, Advice to the Untenured, 13 Nova L. Rev. 79 (1988)
- Nancy Levit, Scholarship Advice for New Law Professors in the Electronic Age, 16 Widener L.J. 947 (2007)
- Heather Meeker, Stalking the Golden Topic: A Guide to Locating and Selecting Topics for Legal Research Papers, 1996 Utah L. Rev. 917 (1996)
- Jason P. Nance, The Law Review Article Selection Process: Results from a National Study, 71 Alb. L. Rev. 565 (2008)
- Allen K. Rostron and Nancy Levit, Information for Submitting Articles to Law Reviews & Journals (July 14, 2012). After entering SSRN select the one-click download link
- University of Wyoming Hopper Law Library Faculty Publication Tips
- Eugene Volokh, Writing an Abstract for a Law Review Article, The Volokh Conspiracy (February 8, 2010 6:21 pm), http://volokh.com/2010/02/08/writing-an-abstract-for-a-law-review-article/
- Donald J. Weidner, A Dean's Letter to New Law Faculty about Scholarship, 44 J. Legal Educ. 440 (1994)
Articles on Law Journal Rankings
- Alfred L. Brophy, Law [Review]'s Empire: The Assessment of Law Reviews and Trends in Legal Scholarship. 39 Conn. L. Rev. 101 (2006)
- Alfred L. Brophy, The Signaling Value of Law Reviews: An Exploration of Citations and Prestige. 36 Fla. St. U. L. Rev. 229 (2009)
- Gregory Scott Crespi, Ranking International and Comparative Law Journals: A Survey of Expert Opinion. 31 Int'l L. 869 (1997)
- Gregory Scott Crespi, Ranking the Environmental Law, Natural Resources Law, and Land Use Planning Journals: A Survey of Expert Opinion. 23 Wm. & Mary Envtl. L. & Pol'y Rev. 273 (1998)
- Gregory Scott Crespi, Ranking Specialized Law Reviews: A Methodological Critique. 26 Fla. St. U. L. Rev. 837 (1999)
- John Doyle, The Law Reviews: Do Their Paths of Glory Lead but to the Grave?. 10 J. App. Prac. & Process 179 (2009)
- Tracey E. George and Chris Guthrie, An Empirical Evaluation of Specialized Law Reviews. 26 Fla. St. U. L. Rev. 813 (1999)
- Joanna L. Grossman, Feminist Law Journals and the Rankings Conundrum. 12 Colum. J. Gender & L. 522 (2003)
- Robert M. Jarvis and Phyllis G. Coleman, Ranking Law Reviews: An Empirical Analysis Based on Author Prominence. 39 Ariz. L. Rev. 15 (1997)
- Robert M. Jarvis and Phyllis Coleman, Ranking Law Reviews by Author Prominence—Ten Years Later. 99 Law Libr. J. 573 (2007)
- Russell Korobkin, Ranking Journals: Some Thoughts on Theory and Methodology. 26 Fla. St. U. L. Rev. 851 (1999)
- Ronen Perry, The Relative Value of American Law Reviews: A Critical Appraisal of Ranking Methods. 11 Va. J.L. & Tech 1 (2006)
- Ronen Perry, The Relative Value of American Law Reviews: Refinement and Implementation. 39 Conn. L. Rev. 1 (2006)
- Dan Jerker B. Svantesson, International Ranking of Law Journals—Can it be Done and at What Cost?. 29 Legal Stud. 678 (2009)
Confirm Indexing and Access to Maximize Impact
The more widely available a source is, the greater the likelihood it will be read and cited. As a result, you may want to investigate where a specific publication is indexed or accessible in full-text. Suggested resources to check include:
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)
(Marion Gould Gallagher Library, University of Washington School of Law) CILP is a weekly email index of current articles from over 500 legal publications. The index is organized by subject, and complete tables of contents for all indexed journals are available. To receive a customized "SmartCILP" email each week that focuses only on the subject headings and journals you are interested in, please contact David Hanson at x2077. - HeinOnline Collection

- Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text and Retrospective (EBSCO)
Legal Periodicals Full Text indexes 1000+ journals from 1981-date, with full text coverage of more than 250 journals beginning in 1995. Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides index coverage from 1908-1981 to more than 750 journals.
EBSCO Help Guides- Journals and Law Reviews (Westlaw)

- JSTOR
Complete back issues in PDF format of scholarly journals covering a variety of subjects. It includes some law journals. It is best for older journals not included in HeinOnline.- LegalTrac

- U.S. and Canadian Law Reviews Combined (LexisNexis)

- Ulrich's International Periodical Directory
Ulrich's is a periodical directory that indicates where publications are indexed or abstracted. - Journals and Law Reviews (Westlaw)
Description
Loading...

