Finding Government Documents
For comprehensive information on finding government documents, see the Finding Government Documents research guide.
For specific research guides on federal resources, see Library of Congress Guide to Law Online.
Executive Branch
- White HouseOfficial web site for the White House. Includes archive of historical documents, White House history, and links to other federal government web sites.
- Compilation of Presidential DocumentsThe Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
- Presidential Executive OrdersExecutive orders issued from 1826 to the present are available through the The American Presidency Project (Univ. of California--Santa Barbara).
- Presidential Executive Orders - National Archives
Legislative Branch
- Code of Federal Regulations - BrowseCoverage from from 2007 to present.
- Code of Federal Regulations - List of Sections Affected (LSA)Coverage from 1997 to present.
- Code of Federal Regulations - SearchCoverage from 1997 to present.
- Congressional DocumentsConsists of House Documents, Senate Documents, and Senate Treaty Documents. Documents can include reports of executive departments and agencies, as well as committee prints. Treaty Documents contain the text of a treaty as it is submitted to the U. S. Senate for ratification by the President. Coverage from 103rd Congress (1993) to present.
- Congressional HearingsA hearing is a meeting or session of a Senate, House, joint, or special committee of Congress to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal law. Coverage from 104th Congress (1994) to present.
- Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from the Congressional Information Service.
Congressional Publications Help Guide - Congressional Record (Bound Edition)Coverage from 1999 to present.
- Congressional Record (Daily Edition)Search the Congressional Record: Daily from 1994 to the present.
- Federal Legislative History LibGuideDescribes federal legislation process and associated documents, including bills, hearings, reports, debate, signing statements, and appropriations. Also provides sources for compiled legislative histories.
- Federal RegisterFederal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Coverage from 1994 to present.
- THOMASLegislative information from the Library of Congress.
- U.S. CodeSearchable database of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
- United States House of RepresentativesOfficial web site for the United States House of Representatives.
- United States SenateOfficial web site for the United States Senate.
Judicial Branch
- Supreme Court of the United StatesOfficial web site for the United States Supreme Court.
- Supreme Court Decisions (Cornell Legal Information Institute)Contains decisions from 1990 to the present. Also contains searchable database of pending cases, court calendar and some historical decisions.
- Eighth Circuit Court of AppealsOfficial web site for the the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals.
- U.S. Courts - Court LocatorProvides a directory of all U.S. Federal Courts.
- U.S. Tax CourtInformation about the court. Searchable TC and Memorandum Opinions starting in September 1995 and Summary Opinions starting in January 2001 are available.
Agencies/Other
Drake Law Library is a Government Depository
![]() |
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code) |
Reference Librarian |



Loading...
