Last Updated: Aug 15, 2013
Monitoring relevant blogs is one way to stay apprised of pending and decided cases.
- First Amendment Law Prof Blog
Covers first amendment stories and events (not limited to SCOTUS cases).
Covers all court activities, not just First Amendment cases. Provides links to information about docketed cases, petitions, statistics, etc.
These resources will help you track pending cases and provide information on recent decisions.
- Supreme Court Today (BNA)
This page defaults to showing the most recent activity before the court. Use the links on the left to retrieve a list of cases recently granted or denied review to keep track of what will be coming before the court. This site will provide the docket number for pending cases, which you can use to obtain more information through the official SCOTUS website (linked below).
- United States Law Week (BNA)
This source reports on significant cases and circuit splits from across the country. To limit your focus just to the U.S. Supreme Court, click the "customize" link under the Courts heading along the left side of the page, log in using your email address, then select the U.S. Supreme Court from the court listing and save your selection. Then you can use the U.S. Supreme Court link from the main page to filter out stories that don't relate to the Supreme Court.
This title is also accessible through Bloomberg Law
. When viewing the publication in Bloomberg, use the "Search Report" box at the right to search for keywords and limit by date.
- Supreme Court of the United States (official website)
Through this site you can find argument calendars, docketing information, recent opinions, and connect to an ABA site that provides access to briefs (see next entry).
- Preview of U.S. Supreme Court Cases
Through this website the ABA provides access to merit and amicus briefs from the latest term. The site also offers a summary of the questions presented in specific cases.
Many databases offer a way to save and automatically re-run searches, informing you of new results.
- BNA Alerts
Provides customized email alerts in all subjects - antitrust, banking, bankruptcy, criminal, environmental, family law, international trade, labor, taxation, etc.
- CCH IntelliConnect
Can be set-up and customized by clicking the Tracker News tab on the upper left.
- Lexis Advance Alert Service
Includes options for searches, Shepards, CourtLink, and more. To access, select Alerts under the My Workspace menu.
- Westlaw Alert Services
Includes the WestClip service, KeyCite alerts, docket alerts, agency tracker, and more. To access, either log in to Westlaw, then click on the Alert Center link in upper right corner; or log in to WestlawNext, click the tools tab, and then the Alert Center.
- Bloomberg Law Alerts Inbox
Includes options for searches, BCite, etc.