Last Updated: Dec 11, 2012
- American Law Sources Online (ALSO)
A useful compilation of links to freely accessible online sources of law for the U.S. and Canada. ALSO contains additional links to sources of commentary and practice aids that are available without charge or low-cost.
- Findlaw for Legal Professionals
FindLaw is another popular source of freely available legal information. It provides a variety of legal resources, including Web search utilities, cases and codes, legal news, and information on various areas of law.
- Guide to Law Online (Library of Congress)
An annotated list of Internet sources for legal researchers. It emphasizes sites offering the full texts of laws, regulations, and court decisions, along with commentary from lawyers writing primarily for other lawyers. It also includes materials related to law and government that were written by or for lay persons and government sites providing general information.
- Hieros Gamos
This site offers a wide variety of resources but may be most notable for its collection of links to foreign and international legal sources.
This site offers free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog databases, as well as community resources.
- Katsuey's Legal Gateway
A directory of selected legal links for legal professionals researching law related topics on the Internet as well as lay-people who want to know more about the law, understand their legal rights and obligations, and/or search for an attorney to assist them.
A freely available Web journal providing legal, library, IT/IS, marketing and administrative professionals with information on a range of Internet research and technology-related issues.
- Legal Information Institute
Sponsored by Cornell Law School, this site features the United States Code, an organized compilation of current federal laws, and all recent opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court. It also provides easy-to-understand topical overviews of various areas of law and organized collections of links to court decisions, statutes, regulations and other legal materials. Particularly helpful is the ability to search statutes by topic or area of law.
- Public Library of Law
Billing itself as the "world's largest free law library," this site offers a variety of primary law, including cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals Cases, and all 50 states back to 1997, federal statutes, state codes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions.
- Zimmerman's Research Guide
Although designed specifically for lawyers and law librarians, this freely available online legal encyclopedia is also handy for finding general information on legal topics.