LibGuides: First Amendment Cases: Updates and Pending Cases

Blogs

Monitoring relevant blogs is one way to stay apprised of pending and decided cases.

Constitutional Law Prof Blog: First Amendment
Covers first amendment stories and events (not limited to SCOTUS cases).
SCOTUSblog
Covers all court activities, not just First Amendment cases. Provides links to information about docketed cases, petitions, statistics, etc.

These resources will help you track pending cases and provide information on recent decisions.

U.S. Law Week
This source reports on significant cases and circuit splits from across the country. This title is also accessible through Bloomberg Law.
Supreme Court of the United States (official website)
Through this site you can find argument calendars, docketing information, recent opinions, and connect to an ABA site that provides access to briefs (see next entry).
Preview of U.S. Supreme Court Cases
Through this website the ABA provides access to merit and amicus briefs from the latest term. The site also offers a summary of the questions presented in specific cases.

Many databases offer a way to save and automatically re-run searches, informing you of new results.

Bloomberg Law Alerts Inbox
Includes options for searches, BCite, etc. To access, select alerts under the "my work history" menu.

Lexis for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Includes options for searches, Shepards, and more. To access, select the bell symbol from the toolbar in the upper right. See also documentation on Lexis alerts.
Westlaw for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Includes the WestClip service, KeyCite alerts, docket alerts, agency tracker, and more. To access, select alerts under the notifications menu. See also documentation on Westlaw alerts.
Law360 This link opens in a new window
Provides current news and expert analysis in legal topic areas.
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Create an account to save your searches or receive notification when a bill, member profile, or the Congressional Record has been updated.

Google Alerts
Receive notification when there are new Google results on a topic of interest.
SuperSearch Alerts
You can set up search alerts in SuperSearch to be notified of new results in the library catalog, or in the catalog and many selected databases.