Racial Justice in the U.S.: For Faculty

"This site, a project of Stanford Law School and SLS’s Robert Crown Law Library, collects and indexes research related to diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI), with the goal of providing a single site for any university, faculty, instructor, staff, and student interested in learning about this topic."

Discusses the importance of establishing ground rules to promote an inclusive learning environment and provides sample ground rules. (From Washington University in St. Louis Center for Teaching and Learning)

An inclusive learning environment statement on the syllabus can help set classroom expectations. This page includes points to consider when crafting such a statement, as well as examples. (From The University of Tennessee Teaching and Learning Innovation)

Suggests strategies instructors can take to achieve an inclusive classroom climate. (From Harvard University's Derek Bok Center for Teaching and Learning)

Describes five practices to help create an intentionally inclusive classroom environment. (From the University of Michigan Center for Research on Learning and Teaching)

"Resources for instructors to help incorporate issues and discussions of diversity, equity, and inclusion into law school classes, with a focus on common 1L subjects."

From the University of Southern California Libraries

From the University of Minnesota Law School Library

From Seattle University Law Library

From University of Washington Law Library

From the University of Miami Law School

From Fordham Law's Maloney Library

From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries

From UC Davis

Provides examples of implicit bias in the classroom as well as racial microaggressions. Includes tips to address microaggressions in the classroom. (From The University of Tennessee Teaching and Learning Innovation)

This guide seeks to help teachers feel more confident leading difficult dialogues by encouraging reflection on how such discussions connect with larger learning goals, and by providing specific strategies and resources that teachers can use to create more productive conversations in their classrooms. (From Vanderbilt University Center for Teaching)

Offers suggestions to help instructors guide discussions on sensitive or controversial topics. (From Washington University in St. Louis Center for Teaching and Learning)

This resource list from the Stanford Clearinghouse on DEI research includes sources on having difficult conversations in the classroom and more generally.

Offers guidelines to help instructors facilitate classroom discussion around controversial issues, including defining boundaries and providing closure. (From the University of Michigan Center for Research on Learning and Teaching)

In this handbook you will find specific designs, approaches, and techniques to ensure that the classroom is a safe space for students to have conversation about issues that matter.

Provides examples of microaggressions and ways they can be addressed by a third party. (From the University of California at Santa Cruz)

This article by Hannah Oliha-Donaldson, Hannah was published in The Howard Journal of Communications 29, no. 2 (2018): 126-43. It explores "inter-group relations and intercultural communication" among students in the context of racial identity.

Provides examples of microaggressions in the classroom as well as strategies for avoiding or addressing them. (From University of Denver Center for Multicultural Excellence)

Tips to help instructors respond productively to difficult classroom moments, such as a marginalizing comment or words or actions that evoke strong emotional responses. (From Harvard University's Derek Bok Center for Teaching and Learning)