International, Foreign, and Comparative Law: Case Law

Provides access to the African Court Law Report and court's latest judgments as well as the African Human Rights Yearbook.

Judgments and decisions of the court, as well as information about court processes and case summaries.

Search cases from the European Union Court of Justice, General Court, and Civil Service Tribunal.

"A collection of the case-law of the courts and tribunals of the Member States concerning European Union law" from the EU Court of Justice.

Text of international commercial arbitration cases from many countries, including Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Coverage varies by source.

Find pending cases or opinions, organized by type: advisory (UN-requested opinion about a legal question) or contentious (dispute between nation-states). Also provides access to decisions from its precursor, the Permanent Court of International Justice.

Full text of documents from the International Court of Justice (the World Court), a judicial body established by the United Nations sitting in The Hague, Netherlands. Coverage begins with 1947.

Links to court decisions from various international courts and tribunals. Curated by World LII. (Note that site may take a long time to load.)

Search for cases against individuals being tried for "genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and aggression."

Law Library Bound Periodicals (second floor): 1962-2011
Online locations: HeinOnline, JSTOR, Lexis, Westlaw).
The American Society of International Law has published this set on a bimonthly basis since 1962. It contains the text of treaties considered to be of major significance and may sometimes provide drafts before a final agreement has been reached.

Search for contentious cases (disputes) and advisory opinions (legal questions) related to the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea.

Search for decisions and judgments, provisional measures, compliance with judgment, and advisory opinions from the Inter-American Court of Human Rights.

Publicly accessible "leading information services on international criminal law." Hosted by the International Criminal Court. Includes both primary and secondary sources.

Full-text search of cases and court documents for current and past disputes in which the parties have agreed to release to the public information about their case.

This database provides access to pending and resolved trade disputes before the WTO.

Documents from dispute settlement panels formed under the World Trade Organization (WTO) and the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT). Coverage of GATT decisions is from 1948 to 1994; coverage of WTO decisions begins with 1995.

Choose the Foreign Law Research link and then select a country, or choose the International Law Research link and select an entity/topic to identify relevant sources of law, including cases.

Click on the country name to see related sources. For many countries, this will only include news. Cases are available for Australia, Canada, China & Hong Kong, England and Wales, EU, Malaysia, Mexico (to 2004), New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Scotland, South Africa, and the UK.

Countries covered are Australia, Canada, European Union, Hong Kong, Korea, and
United Kingdom. They can be searched all together or individually.

"The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe."

Typically provides an overview of the legal system in a particular country and links into legislation, cases, and other sources of law. (Note that this site may take a while to load.)

This guide provides a variety of options for accessing U.S. cases.

Law Library Index Shelving KF 4651 .R47 1987 (First Floor East). Also available to law students electronically.

English translations of decisions of the Supreme Court of Puerto Rico. Coverage begins with December 1973.

This Cardozo Law project translates key opinions of the Israeli Supreme Court into English.

Contains environmental decisions from a variety of countries.

Contains translations of statutes in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law.

A searchable collection of country-specific legislation and case law implementing international humanitarian law, from the International Committee of the Red Cross.

National and international jurisprudential decisions related to refugees, including courts, administrative bodies, and tribunals.