LibGuides: Environmental Regulation of Agriculture: Choosing a Topic

Introduction

A crucial step in the writing process, topic selection merits careful consideration. Methods for identifying topics include reviewing:

the table of contents of your course text books
news sources
journals
websites of professional organizations and advocacy groups
books

Journals

Washington & Lee Law Journals Listings
Looking at the tables of contents in recent issues of journals will suggest current topics. To generate a list of journals that focus on agriculture or environmental law, visit the Washington & Lee Law Journals page, select "Agriculture Law," "Energy and Natural Resources Law," or "Environmental and Land Use Law" from the drop-down originally showing "All Subjects," and click on the Submit button.

Professional Organizations

Professional organizations represent the members of a particular profession. Organizational websites, conferences, and blogs are a good way to identify current topics. Examples include:

Advocacy Groups

Advocacy groups are composed of individuals who promote a particular cause or industry. Their websites, conferences, and blogs can be a good way to identify topics. Examples include:

Beyond Pesticides
Environmental Defense Fund
Marbleseed: Midwest Organic & Sustainable Education Service
National Sustainable Agriculture Association
Organic Farming Research Foundation
Pesticide Action Network
Rodale Institute
Sustainable Agriculture Education Association
Wetlands International
Encyclopedia of Associations
Comprehensive source of detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope.

Selected Books and Sites on Ag Law

Agricultural Law by Neil Harl
This title covers agricultural law in the following areas: civil liabilities, environmental law, labor law, income taxation, social security, estate planning, business planning, federal regulations, state and local regulations, commercial transactions, bankruptcy, insurance law, property law, and agricultural cooperatives (older editions at Law Library Stacks KF1681 .A8 H37 ).
National Agricultural Law Center Reading Rooms
Select a topic (such as aquaculture, conservation programs, forestry, or water law) and you'll be provided with an overview of the topic, a list of federal laws and regulations, Congressional Research Service reports, links to reference sources from various federal agencies, and other resources relating to the topic.
USDA National Agricultural Library Program Areas
Information about various partnerships and centers related to agricultural law.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Annual publication discussing U.S. agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.

Agricultural Law in a Nutshell by Roger McEowen
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF1682 .M35 2017
Covers the basic facets of agricultural law.
Law of the Land: Fundamentals of Agricultural Law by Roger A. McEowen and Neil E. Harl
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF1682 .M35 2002
This one volume title provides an overview of the topic.
Agricultural Law Manual by Neil E. Harl
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF1682 .H38 2011
This volume is intended as a deskbook for professionals advising agricultural clients.
Agricultural and Agribusiness Law: An Introduction for Non-Lawwyers by Theodore A. Feitshans
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF1682 .F54 2016
Introduces the U.S. legal system and agriculture-related areas of law.
Agriculture and Food Handbook by American Bar Association, Section of Antitrust Law Staff
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF1682 .A785 2019
"Comprehensive review of the regulatory, anti-trust, and consumer protection issues" that arise in these areas of law.
Food Law: A Practical Guide by Tommy Tobin, editor
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF3875 .F63 2021
Describes "how different areas of law and legal practice intersect with food."

Selected Books on Environmental Law

Environmental Law in a Nutshell by Daniel Farber
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF3775.Z9 F56
Chapter 3 "Pollution Control" introduces nuisance remedies and regulation under the CWA.
Treatise on Environmental Law by Frank P. Grad
Call Number: KF3775 .G7 (Print copy no longer updated.)
Must have LexisNexis login to access. Analyzes statutes, regulations, and case law related to environmental law. Chapter 3 covers water pollution.
Law of Environmental Protection by Sheldon M. Novick
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF3775 .N68 (Print copy no longer updated.)
Link above takes you chapter 13 (Water) of the treatise on Westlaw (must have Westlaw password to access). The "text provides detailed reviews of key statutes administered by the EPA to clarify the compliance and procedural requirements of major federal environmental statutes," including the CWA.
The Clean Water Act Handbook by Mark Ryan
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF3790 .C53 2018
"Beginning with an overview of the law's provisions and pertinent regulation and enforcement issues," individual chapters address such issues as
• NPDES permits
• Requirements applicable to indirect discharges
• CAFO discharges
• TMDLs
• Enforcement options under Section 309
• Citizen suits
• Judicial review
Endangered Species Act: Law, Policy, and Perspectives by Donald C. Baur & Ya-Wei Li, editors
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF5640.A315 E83
After an overview and history of the ESA, the book delves into different aspects of the act, including listing endangered and threatened species, citizen suits, state ESAs, and more.
Environmental Enforcement: Civil and Criminal by Daniel Riesel
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF 3775 .R53 (Print copy no longer updated.)
Must have Lexis password to access. "This book, by one of the nation's first environmental prosecutors, is a detailed guide to environmental enforcement." Chapters include Structures of Environmental Enforcement, Penalties, Civil Enforcement under the Clean Water Act, and more.
Environmental Litigation: Law and Strategy by Kegan A. Brown & Andrea M. Hogan, editors
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF8925.E5 E58
Discusses "how environmental issues are addressed and resolved through litigation." The book is organized around environmental topics, like civil enforcement, criminal enforcement, citizen suits, etc., rather than specific statutes or regulations.
ISBA Environmental Law Manual
Call Number: Law Library Reserve KFI4554 .E58 1997
Although published in 1997, this manual may still be useful for some of its Iowa-specific information. Chapters of interest include 1, which covers practice before the IDNR; 3, which covers the CWA; and 12, which covers environmental common law, causes of action and remedies.

Environmental Regulation of Agriculture: Choosing a Topic