LibGuides: Administrative Law: Federal Agencies

Federal Agency Directories

United States Government Manual (govinfo)
1935-present. This annual publication is the official handbook of the U.S. federal government and provides descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It provides departmental organization charts that show agency reporting structures as well as citations to the legislation that created the agency. This title is also available in the Law Library's print collection.
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Provides links to the official websites of federal agencies and sub-agencies.

OIRA and Regulatory Agendas

The Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs, part of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), reviews draft proposed and final regulations under Executive Order 12866 and develops and oversees the implementation of government-wide policies in the areas of information policy, privacy, and statistical policy. OIRA also oversees agency implementation of the Information Quality Act, including the peer review practices of agencies. (Excerpted from Reginfo.Gov)

OIRA homepage
RegInfo.gov
Reginfo.gov displays regulatory actions and information collections currently at OIRA for review. Various options for searching the unified agenda are under that tab. (See explanation of unified agenda.) The regulatory review tab includes access to a dashboard that provides information about regulatory actions currently under review.

Federal Agency Decisions

A Guide to Administrative Law: Administrative Decisions
This Library of Congress guide introduces the kinds of adjudicative materials issued by agencies and some sources for finding them.

Administrative law judges conduct hearings and issue decisions for federal agencies. Many of these decisions are available through the agency's website.

U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to decisions and other publications from a wide range of U.S. agencies including the Federal Communications Commission, Federal Trade Commission, National Labor Relations Board, and Securities and Exchange Commission. Coverage typically extends back to the title's inception.

Agency Materials
The link will take you to a list of agencies for which materials are searchable in Lexis. The dates of coverage for agency decisions will vary by agency.
Agency Materials
The link will take you to a list of agencies for which materials are searchable in Westlaw. The dates of coverage for agency decisions will vary by agency.

AILALink This link opens in a new window
AILALink provides access to immigration related agency decisions.

Administrative Law: Federal Agencies

Federal Agency Directories

OIRA and Regulatory Agendas

Federal Agency Decisions

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2604 Forest Ave. • Des Moines, Iowa 50311-3014