"FAO's mandate is to raise levels of nutrition, improve agricultural productivity, better the lives of rural populations and contribute to the growth of the world economy."
"Food Code" established by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations and the World Health Organization in 1963 to protect public health and encourage fair food trade practices.
Federal Entities
U.S. federal resources are listed below. For even more options, check USA.gov, the official portal to U.S. government information.
The site contains news, research, and more. Includes information on Laws and Regulations. The site also offers topical portals, such as Food and Nutrition (which links to other related topics) and Organic Agriculture. There are also linked sites for sub-agencies, such as the National Institute of Food and Agriculture, Economic Research Service, Food and Nutrition Service, and the Food Safety and Inspection Service.
"The Foodborne Diseases Active Surveillance Network, or FoodNet, has been tracking trends for infections transmitted commonly through food since 1996." From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Non-governmental association that represents state departments of agriculture. The site includes topical briefing rooms with committee, policy, and contact information. Also includes links to resources, news, letters, and testimony.
"The Center provides timely, objective, unbiased information to producers, professionals and agribusinesses concerning the application of important developments in agricultural law and taxation (federal and state legal opinions of relevance, as well as legislative developments), and serves as a primary source of professional educational training in agricultural law and taxation."
Aims "to build a healthier, more equitable, and resilient food system." Includes white papers, briefings, and project descriptions. At Johns Hopkins University.
Find full-text publications prepared by economists, legal experts and scientists for a general audience. Covers issues related to food science, agricultural technology, animal sciences, and plant & soil sciences.
UK-based platform providing research on international development issues. Topic areas include Agriculture and Food, Climate Change, Environment, Food Security, Nutrition, Taxation, Trade Policy, and more.
This National Conference of State Legislatures website provides information on state initiatives in the areas of food code adoption, food waste, and the economic impacts of foodborne illneses.
Includes reports, food policy briefs, and articles. The focus is on NYC, but the site also offers more general information, particularly about urban food policy.
The institute, located at Georgetown University Law Center, offers articles, white papers, reports and news in several categories, including food and nutrition.
"ROC works together with California communities, businesses and policy makers to ensure a healthy, equitable and resilient food system for all Californians." Provides access to reports, white papers, ROC supported legislation, a blog, etc.
The Rural Data Explorer and Chart Gallery provide access to a wide range of data on rural health issues. The site also offers a state-by-state overview of rural health resources.
Focuses on food marketing, food policy and the environment, food security, weight bias, and related topics. The Rudd Research Database is a searchable archive of infographics, handouts, podcasts, and publications.
