This is the "Home" page of the "Bar Examination Preparation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Bar Examination Preparation   Tags: bar_exam, multistate_bar  

Resources to help law school graduates study for the bar examination.
Last Updated: May 4, 2012 URL: http://libguides.law.drake.edu/barexam Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

One Test to Go!

When you were sitting down to take the LSAT, the bar exam probably seemed quite distant. No doubt a lot of work and effort have helped you get to the point where you are now: preparing to take the bar. As you build on that foundation, studying for what may be the last exam you'll ever have to take, this guide lists some suggested resources.

For the MPRE, see separate MPRE Preparation guide.

Also, remember that the CALI lessons and study aids that helped you prepare for other exams might also be useful for the bar.

See Finding Library Materials for more information on how to find materials referenced in this guide.
 

Bar Review Courses

  • FindLaw Listing
    FindLaw offers what it calls a “comprehensive list of all the bar review resources available on the Web.”
  • LexisOne Listing
    LexisOne offers a selective list of bar review companies, including a couple not noted on the FindLaw site.

Basic Information

National Conference of Bar Examiners Web site
In addition to the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (see MPRE Preparation guide), the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) provides the following tests:

The Multistate Bar Examination (MBE)

— a six-hour, two-hundred question multiple-choice examination covering contracts, torts, constitutional law, criminal law, evidence, and real property. (This is used by most U.S. jurisdictions, including all states but Louisiana and Washington). The 2012 Information Booklet includes information about test, including subject outlines and sample questions.

The Multistate Essay Examination (MEE)

— a three-hour, six-question essay examination covering agency and partnership, commercial paper, conflict of laws, corporations, decedents' estates, family law, federal civil procedure, sales, secured transactions, and trusts and future interests. (Note: not all jurisdictions use this test. Iowa now does.) The 2012 Information Booklet includes information about the test, including subject outlines and sample questions.

The Multistate Performance Test (MPT)

— three 90-minute skills questions covering legal analysis, fact analysis, problem solving, resolution of ethical dilemmas, organization and management of a lawyering task, and communication. (A number of jurisdictions use this test, including Iowa.) The 2012 Information Booklet includes information about the test, including an outline of the skills tested and summaries of previously administered tests.

The NCBE Web site includes more information about these tests (including sample questions), bar admission statistics, study aids (a few of which are available online for free), a directory of bar admission offices, and more.

  • BAR/BRI Digest
    Library Periodical Reserve and Career Development Office
    This annual publication provides basic information about multistate and individual state bar exams as well as information about BAR/BRI, a for-profit bar exam preparation course. (See Bar Review Courses heading below.)
  • Comprehensive Guide to Bar Admission Requirements
    Most recent (on reserve) and prior years at KF302.Z9 C65
    This book “sets out the rules and practices of all U.S. jurisdictions for admission to the bar by examination and on motion: legal education, character and fitness, bar examinations, special licenses, etc.”
  • Iowa Bar Examination Schedule, Fees, and Application
    Information about the Iowa bar exam and an application to take it are available from the Iowa Judicial Branch Web site. Additional information, such as pass statistics and applying for accommodations, is available via the links on the left of the screen.
  • Iowa Bar Examination Information from Drake University Law School
    Applying to take the Iowa bar exam is a two-step process. It is cheapest (and allows more time to clear up any potential problems) if the first step is completed by Nov. 1 of the first year of law school. The Career Development Office provides downloadable application forms for the Iowa bar as well as information about fees and deadlines.
  • Bar Admission in Other States
    George Mason University School of Law provides links to information about bar admissions in its home state of Virginia as well as in all other states.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Karen Wallace
Contact Info
Law Library, Room 157
515-271-2989
Send Email
 

Feedback

This guide is for your benefit so tell us what you think.  Suggestions are welcome!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:



Law Library Home · Library Hours · Directions · Ask A Librarian
Drake University Law Library • 2615 Carpenter Ave • Des Moines, Iowa 50311
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip