LibGuides: Case Law: Dockets

Iowa Court Dockets

Iowa Courts Online This link opens in a new window
Search for court docket information by case number, party name, or attorney name. All public trial cases after 1998 are searchable.

Iowa State Court Dockets
Coverage: January 2013 - present. After accessing the Iowa dockets page, click the advanced search link to limit your search by county. Note that this only lets you see what was filed on the case; you cannot access the filings themselves. Note also that Westlaw may be missing some of the filings for any given case.

Other States

Dockets Coverage
Bloomberg currently provides access to docketing information for selected states. To determine if a state is covered, and the dates of coverage available, access Bloomberg's Dockets Coverage page through the link above.
Dockets by State
Westlaw also provides access to a dockets index and coverage details.

Federal Court Dockets

Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. You are charged a fee for searches and document retrieval.

Drake Law Students and Faculty ONLY: For federal district court information not available in any of the other sources on this page, see a reference librarian who can search PACER for you.

Bloomberg Dockets
Includes docketing information for all federal courts. This should be your first choice when searching for federal docketing information. Read more about how to search dockets or coverage.
Lexis CourtLink
This tool for searching federal and selected state dockets can be accessed through Lexis+ accounts.
Coverage details
Search tips

Docketbird This link opens in a new window
Searchable docketing database containing nearly every pending federal case, and hundreds of thousands of state cases. Consult a reference librarian for access.

PACER
Drake affiliated users, see a reference librarian. Public patrons can set up their own PACER account here. Be sure to read the fee information.
Justia Dockets
Search federal court dockets back to 2004. Note: Results may not include complete lists of filings.
RECAP
Searchable database of federal court filings. It is a large, but not comprehensive, collection. From the Free Law Project.

Case Law: Dockets

Iowa Court Dockets

Other States

Federal Court Dockets

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2604 Forest Ave. • Des Moines, Iowa 50311-3014