LibGuides: Case Law: U.S. Supreme Court Cases

U.S. Supreme Court

The U.S. Supreme Court is the highest court in the United States. This page contains information on where to locate U.S. Supreme Court cases.

Websites for U.S. Supreme Court Opinions

Supreme Court Collection (Cornell's Legal Information Institute)
Includes current and historic decisions and information about the Court.
U.S. Supreme Court Opinions (Findlaw)
Coverage back to 1 U.S.
Google Scholar - Case Law
Search opinions from the U.S. Supreme Court from 1791, US federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts from 1923, and state cases from 1950.
Justia.com
Coverage back to 1 U.S.
Supreme Court Slip Opinions
The Supreme Court site publishes new slip opinions as soon as they are announced.
Court Listener
Includes opinions from federal and state courts. To limit jurisdiction, click Select Jurisdictions button. The collection is large but not comprehensive. Read more about coverage. From the Free Law Project.

United States Reports

United States Reports is the official publication of the Supreme Court. It is available in multiple places.

Supreme Court Site
Offers PDF versions starting with volume 502 (1991 term).

U.S. Supreme Court Library This link opens in a new window
Coverage back to 1 U.S.

U.S. Reports
Contains volumes 1 - 577 (1754-2016)
U.S. Supreme Court Cases
Coverage back to 1790.
U.S. Supreme Court Cases, Lawyers' Edition
Coverage of U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1790, but other cases in the U.S. Reports are available back to 1760.
United States Reports (Library of Congress)
Includes volumes 1 through 570 (1754-2012).

Supreme Court Cases in Print

Supreme Court Reporter is West's commercial publication of Supreme Court opinions, and the United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition is the Lexis commercial publication of Supreme Court opinions.

Official Reports From the Supreme Court
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF101 .A2; GOVDOC JU 6.8/A
Supreme Court Reporter by West Publishing Company
Call Number: KF101 .U5
Publication Date: Print subscription cancelled in 2014
United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyer's Edition by Lexis
Call Number: KF101 .U5
Publication Date: Print subscription cancelled in 2014

Case Law: U.S. Supreme Court Cases

U.S. Supreme Court

Websites for U.S. Supreme Court Opinions

United States Reports

Supreme Court Cases in Print

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2604 Forest Ave. • Des Moines, Iowa 50311-3014