Welcome
Finding data on actual jury awards and settlements can help lawyers assess damages. This guide points to some resources for this task. Much of the most recent information comes from subscription databases, such as those described on this page.
See Finding Library Materials for more information on how to find materials referenced in this guide.
Iowa-Specific Sources
Iowa information may also be found in the broader databases, but these sources are specific to Iowa.
- Polk County Jury Verdicts, 1993-2002Library location: KFI4395 .P64 2004
Compiled by the Polk County Court Administration. The listings are organized by type of accident and include the following data, as applicable: date of trial, type of injury, sex and age of plaintiff, medical special damages, last demand before trial, last offer before trial, and jury verdict and percentage of comparative fault. - Polk County Jury Verdicts, 2007 - Jan. 2012Compiled and categorized by the Polk County Court Administration. The listings include the following data, as applicable: date of trial, type of injury, sex and age of plaintiff, medical special damages, last demand before trial, last offer before trial, and jury verdict and percentage of comparative fault.
- Iowa Association for Justice Verdicts and Settlements databaseOnly open to Iowa Association for Justice members
Westlaw
Westlaw Jury Verdicts, Settlements, and Judgments databases
(Note: The Law Library's subscription is only for Law faculty, staff, and students.)
To view the entire directory, select Verdicts under the Litigation menu.
Databases include:
- Combined VerdictSearch Jury Verdicts & Settlement (VS-JV) – "Summaries of civil jury verdicts, judgments, settlements and arbitrations from throughout the United States" reported by American Lawyer Media (1996- )
- Iowa Jury Verdicts Combined (IA-JV) "Summaries of jury verdicts, judgments, settlements, and arbitration awards from federal and state proceedings in Iowa. . . from Jury Verdict Research, Inc., LRP Publications, Inc. and West" (Coverage varies)
- Jury Verdict and Settlement Summaries (LRP-JV) - "Summaries of jury verdicts and settlements from around the country supplied by LRP Publications" (1987- )
- Jury Verdicts - National (JV-NAT) - "Verdict, judgment, settlement, arbitration and expert witness information compiled by jury verdict publishers" (Coverage varies)
- National Law Journal Annual Jury Verdict Reports (NLJ-RPT-JV) - "Annual jury verdict report documents from The National Law Journal" (1990- )
- Verdicts, Settlements & Tactics (VST) - "Summaries of verdicts and settlements in personal injury cases" (1988- )
- Recovery for Wrongful Death and Injury Economic Handbook (WRONGDEATH) - This treatise includes wrongful death awards in its Appendix D.
- Stein on Personal Injury Damages (STEIN) This treatise includes information about amounts awarded in personal injury cases.
- Combined VerdictSearch Jury Verdicts and Settlement (VS-JV)
Lexis
LexisNexis Jury Verdicts and Experts databases
(Note: The Law Library's subscription is only for Law faculty, staff, and students.)
To view the entire directory, follow this path: Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > Litigation Practice & Procedure > Find Briefs, Motions, Pleadings & Jury Verdicts > Jury Verdicts & Experts.
Databases include:
- Jury Verdicts and Settlements Combined (VERDCT;ALLVER) - Combines all LexisNexis verdict databases (Coverage varies)
- Dolan Media Verdicts and Settlements (VERDCT:DOLVER) - "Selected jury verdict and settlement reports from Dolan Media Company's various products including Lawyers Weekly publications" (1995- )
- Federal Jury Verdict Reporter (VERDCT;FEDJVR) - "Selected civil jury verdicts" (2005- )
- LexisNexis Jury Verdicts and Settlements (TORTS;MEAJVS) - In chart form provides "verdicts and settlements from the most important intellectual property, insurance, securities, employment, complex litigation, real estate, antitrust and commercial law cases" (1990- )
- National Jury Verdict Review and Analysis (VERDCT;NTLREV) – "Selected verdicts and settlements" published by Jury Verdict Review Publications (1985- )
- Verdicts, Settlements & Tactics (VERDCT;VERST) – "Names of expert witnesses, a summary of the facts of the case, and the result" in cases from all fifty states (1988- )
Additional Sources
- Dollar Verdicts: Personal InjuryLibrary location: Reserve KF1257.Z95 D65
This source presents an alphabetical listing of injuries, from abdomen to wrongful death, and for each topic summarizes relevant cases decided, including listing the amount awarded. - What's it Worth? A Guide to Current Personal Injury Awards and SettlementsLibrary location: Reserve KF1257 .M9 2000. Click above for more recent versions from LexisNexis.
This source summarizes personal injury damage awards, with each edition covering a three-year time period. - MoreLaw Verdict SearchProvides access to jury verdicts and judgments, searchable by jurisdiction, keyword, and more.
- BNA's Employment Discrimination Verdicts and SettlementsThis is "a searchable database that contains thousands of employment discrimination verdicts and settlements reported in Employment Discrimination Report."
- Jury Verdict Review & AnalysisThis site has a free database of civil verdicts (which has some dollar amounts stripped out) as well as a fee-based service.
- National Association of State Jury Verdict Publishers Web SiteThis site may also be useful for finding publishers of jury verdicts in various U.S. jurisdictions. (Note: currently it does not list any publishers for Iowa)
- Appendix: "Bringing Settlement Out of the Shadows: Information about Settlement in an Age of Confidentiality"The appendix to this article lists additional sources that might be useful. (48 UCLA Law Review 663, 708).
Reference Librarian |
Feedback
This guide is for your benefit so tell us what you think. Suggestions are welcome!


Loading...
