Jury Awards, Judgments and Settlements: Jury Verdicts

Compiled by the Polk County Court Administration. The listings are organized by type of accident and include the following data, as applicable: date of trial, type of injury, sex and age of plaintiff, medical special damages, last demand before trial, last offer before trial, and jury verdict and percentage of comparative fault.
Also available in print at Law Library Information Desk KFI4395 .P64.

Compiled and categorized by the Polk County Court Administration. The listings include the following data, as applicable: date of trial, type of injury, sex and age of plaintiff, medical special damages, last demand before trial, last offer before trial, and jury verdict and percentage of comparative fault.

Available through the Iowa State Bar Association, the Iowa Civil Jury Verdict Reporter is a searchable database Iowa civil jury verdicts provided monthly by the Iowa Judicial Branch. The database has a comprehensive search engine that allows you to search based on almost any parameters. Click here for search tips.

"Summaries of jury verdicts, judgments, settlements, and arbitration awards from federal and state proceedings in Iowa. . . from Jury Verdict Research, Inc., LRP Publications, Inc. and West" (Coverage varies.)

Only open to Iowa Association for Justice members

"Summaries of verdicts and settlements in personal injury cases" (1988- )

This treatise includes wrongful death awards in its Appendices.

This treatise includes information about amounts awarded in personal injury cases.

"[P]rovides monthly reports which identify settlements and jury awards from a variety of personal injury claims, including medical malpractice, premises liability and vehicular liability. The reports include summaries of comparable cases, distribution of the award or settlement, median, means and probability ranges for awards and other statistical breakdowns."

This page can help orient you to the tool, giving you "access to over 1.1 million verdicts and settlements . . . to compare resolution trends against each other and the specifics of your case."

This source summarizes personal injury damage awards, with each edition covering a three-year time period. The above link goes to the What's It Worth guide for Iowa; to access similar guides for other states, from the Lexis homepage, click on "Sources" under the search bar, then select "View All Sources." Each guide is listed as the state's abbreviation and then the title; for example, Kansas' guide is listed as "KS - What's It Worth? A Guide to Personal Injury Awards and Settlements."
Also available in print at Law Library Information Desk KF1257 .M9.

Provides access to jury verdicts and judgments, searchable by jurisdiction, keyword, and more.

Articles about specific kinds of actions that may include section on damages awarded and settlements reached.
Also available in print at Law Library Reference KF8863 .S53 (password required).

This site has a free database of civil verdicts (which has some dollar amounts stripped out) as well as a fee-based service.

The appendix to this article lists additional sources that might be useful. (48 UCLA Law Review 663, 708).