LibGuides: Sales: Class Research Guide

Uniform Commercial Code (UCC)

A note on uniform and model laws:

Different entities draft uniform or model legislation in places where consistency in state laws is desirable. State legislatures may vote to adopt these laws with or without revision. The governing law is whatever is adopted by each state.

Background Resources

Uniform Commercial Code Intro
This Duke Law Library guide introduces the UCC and provides links to related resources.
Uniform Law Commission: UCC
The Uniform Law Commission (ULC), also known as the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, drafted the UCC. This page provides information about the UCC (both generally and specific to each article) and its history.

Text, Commentary, and Cases

Uniform Commercial Code from LII
Text only from the Legal Information Institute (Cornell).
Uniform Laws Annotated
“Uniform Laws Annotated has the complete set of uniform or model acts, codes and rules. It includes commentaries and notes regarding differences in various enacted state laws.”
Also available in print at Law Library Reference KF879.A45 U5
Anderson on the Uniform Commercial Code
A multi-volume treatise that provides the text of the UCC along with practice pointers, commentary, and references to case law.
Also available in print at Law Library Stacks KF879.A45 A52 1981
Hawkland's Uniform Commercial Code Series
Organized by UCC number, this treatise provides "official code text, official comments, variations enacted by the states. . . analysis and commentary, other related legislation, and case references."
UCC Reporter-Digest
Includes the the Official UCC Text and Comments, state variations, the Permanent Editorial Board Commentaries on the Uniform Commercial Code, and annotations of important UCC cases.
UCC Cases and Administrative Materials
"Cases from the Uniform Commercial Code Cases database (UCC-CS), plus attorney general opinions and opinions from county counsel, the U.S. Comptroller General, state comptrollers, the Federal Trade Commission, the Board of Contract Appeals, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Commentary relating to the Uniform Commercial Code is also included. Coverage begins with 1898."
Forms and Procedures Under the UCC
Analyzes (among other parts of UCC), Article 2 and how it applies to drafting sales agreements, sellers' obligations, the Magnuson-Moss Federal Warranty Act, and more.

The ABCs of the UCC Article 1 by Scott J. Burnham
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF890 .M55 2013
Also available on Bloomberg.

Sales Study Aids

Broadly, study aids include narrative descriptions of the law, outlines, and practice questions. Used as a complement to your own reading, class participation, and outlining, they can help you prepare for class, study for exams, and learn the law.

Aspen Online Study Aids
This link will connect you to a page where you can access and learn more about the Aspen Online Study Aids collection, which permits you to download electronic copies of study aids that you can highlight and annotate. Sales titles include Friedman's Practice Series for Sales, Glannon Guide to Sales, Examples & Explanations for Sales and Leases, and the In Other Words series on Buyer's Damages - Accepted Goods in audio and video.
Sales
This link will run a search against SuperSearch, the library's catalog, and retrieve a list of study aids with the subject heading Sales--United States or the subject heading Uniform Commercial Code- Sales.
Sales: All Lessons
This guide provides a subject outline to Sales with linked CALI lessons.

Other Sales-Specific Treatises

The Law of Sales: A Detailed Explanation of Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code by John Parker Huggard
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF912.24 1951 .H84 2020
The ABCs of the UCC Article 2 by Henry D. Gabriel
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF915 .G3 2013
Also available on Bloomberg.

Law of Sales Under the Uniform Commercial Code
A "comprehensive treatise . . . [that] focuses on sales law as a unified subject."
Sales and Bulk Transfers Under the UCC
"Built upon and taking from the common law, the Uniform Sales Act, bulk sales legislation, and everyday business practices, the Code--in Articles 2 and 6--establishes regulatory provisions and procedures which really set the approach to commercial practices. This book is concerned with how to approach and analyze issues, counseling about commercial practices, and recommendations affecting contract draftsmanship in conformity with and responsive to the Sales and Bulk Transfers Articles of the Uniform Commercial Code."

Sales: Class Research Guide

Scope

Uniform Commercial Code (UCC)

Sales Study Aids

Other Sales-Specific Treatises

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2604 Forest Ave. • Des Moines, Iowa 50311-3014