Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is intended as an aid to students taking the Drake Law School course Sales. It provides resources related to Uniform Commercial Code (UCC), Articles 1 (General Provisions) and 2 (Sales), including general resources on the UCC, sales study aids, and other sales-specific treatises available through the Drake Law Library. Librarians are also available for research assistance by using use the email links for PC/Mac/Android users and for iPhone/iPad users.
Uniform Commercial Code (UCC)
A note on uniform and model laws:
Different entities draft uniform or model legislation in places where consistency in state laws is desirable. State legislatures may vote to adopt these laws with or without revision. The governing law is whatever is adopted by each state.
Uniform Commercial Code Intro
This Duke Law Library guide introduces the UCC and provides links to related resources.
Uniform Law Commission: UCC
The Uniform Law Commission (ULC), also known as the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, drafted the UCC. This page provides information about the UCC (both generally and specific to each article) and its history.
Text, Commentary, and Cases
Uniform Commercial Code from LII
Text only from the Legal Information Institute (Cornell).
Uniform Laws Annotated
Law Library Reference KF879.A45 U5 & Westlaw (ULA)
“Uniform Laws Annotated has the complete set of uniform or model acts, codes and rules. It includes commentaries and notes regarding differences in various enacted state laws.”
Anderson on the Uniform Commercial Code
A multi-volume treatise that provides the text of the UCC along with practice pointers, commentary, and references to case law.
Law Library Stacks KF879.A45 A52 1981
Also available on Westlaw
Hawkland's Uniform Commercial Code Series (Westlaw)
Organized by UCC number, this treatise provides "official code text, official comments, variations enacted by the states. . . analysis and commentary, other related legislation, and case references."
UCC Reporter-Digest (Lexis)
Includes the the Official UCC Text and Comments, state variations, the Permanent Editorial Board Commentaries on the Uniform Commercial Code, and annotations of important UCC cases.
Westlaw UCC Cases and Admin Materials
"Cases from the Uniform Commercial Code Cases database (UCC-CS), plus attorney general opinions and opinions from county counsel, the U.S. Comptroller General, state comptrollers, the Federal Trade Commission, the Board of Contract Appeals, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Commentary relating to the Uniform Commercial Code is also included. Coverage begins with 1898."
Forms and Procedures Under the UCC (Lexis)
Analyzes (among other parts of UCC), Article 2 and how it applies to drafting sales agreements, sellers' obligations, the Magnuson-Moss Federal Warranty Act, and more.
Sales Study Aids
Broadly, study aids include narrative descriptions of the law, outlines, and practice questions. Used as a complement to your own reading, class participation, and outlining, they can help you prepare for class, study for exams, and learn the law.
Other Sales-Specific Treatises
Law of Sales Under the Uniform Commercial Code
Available on Westlaw, this "comprehensive treatise . . . focuses on sales law as a unified subject."
Sales and Bulk Transfers Under the UCC
Available on Lexis. "Built upon and taking from the common law, the Uniform Sales Act, bulk sales legislation, and everyday business practices, the Code--in Articles 2 and 6--establishes regulatory provisions and procedures which really set the approach to commercial practices. This book is concerned with how to approach and analyze issues, counseling about commercial practices, and recommendations affecting contract draftsmanship in conformity with and responsive to the Sales and Bulk Transfers Articles of the Uniform Commercial Code."
Drake University Law Library • 2604 Forest Ave. • Des Moines, Iowa 50311-3014