Faculty Scholarship

ScholarRank only includes articles (not book chapters or other materials) that are included in the HeinOnline Law Journal Library. HeinOnline also incorporates case citations to articles using data from HeinOnline and Fastcase.

ScholarRank ranks authors based on the calculation of five HeinOnline ScholarCheck metrics. The Z-score for each of the five metrics is identified and then averaged, and the final average is entered into a standard competition ranking to produce the overall ScholarRank for each author. 

The five metrics are:

1. Cited by Articles (0-5 Years): counts the number of times an author has been cited by other articles in HeinOnline within the past five years only.  
2. Cited by Articles (5+ Years): counts the number of times an author has been cited by other articles in HeinOnline beyond the past five years only.  
   Note: Citation sources for both of the articles metrics include the Bluebook, Prince’s Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations, and the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations. 
3. Cited by Cases (0-5 Years): counts the number of times an author has been cited by cases available in HeinOnline or via Fastcase within the past five years only. 
4. Cited by Cases (5+ Years): counts the number of times an author has been cited by cases available in HeinOnline or via Fastcase beyond the past five years only. 
5. Accessed (Past 12 Months): counts the cumulative number of times an author’s articles have been accessed by HeinOnline users within a rolling 12 month period.  To count as accessed, the article must be clicked from either search results or by browsing to the article, or retrieved using the citation navigator. 

The Z score for each metric is caluclated with this formula: Zx = (x-µ)/σ, or put another way:

HeinOnline recalculates its metrics once each month, usually in the third week of the month.

Anyone with an article in the HeinOnline Law Journal Library automatically has an author profile page that displays basic information from the AALS directory, the list of the author's articles that are accessible in HeinOnline, and HeinOnline citation metrics.

Your HeinOnline Author Profile only lists your articles (not book chapters or other materials) that are included in the HeinOnline Law Journal Library. 

Locating Author Profiles

First, access HeinOnline. The link connects you to the Drake Law Library subscription. On campus it will work seamlessly. Off campus, you will first need to sign in using your Drake ID number and password (the same information you use for myDrake).

Then click on Law Journal Library under Browse Databases by Name.

There are choices for your next best step depending on what you want to do. 

Option 1 - Select an author profile by institution

1. Click on the Author Profiles link

2. This will bring up a list of institutions. Select the institution you want.

3. Now you will see a list of all authors at that institution.

• Note: the "CSV for this institution" link that precedes the list of authors allows you to download a spreadsheet showing the ScholarRank and other metrics for every author within the institution.
• You can also click the name of a specific individual to bring up their profile.
• 

Option 2 - Select an author profile by searching for an individual

Rather than finding a profile through an author's institution, you can also search for them directly.

Once you are logged in to HeinOnline, click the advanced search option near the top of the page.

This will bring up a search form, where you can enter the person's name in the author field, as shown below.

Clicking the search button to execute the search will bring up a list of articles by that author. Below you can see that in the search result the author's name is linked. Clicking on that name will take you to their profile.

This also works from the left-hand navigation when you are viewing an article. Clicking on the linked author's name will bring up their profile.

Option 3 - Select an author profile by browsing most cited lists

Once you are logged in to HeinOnline, select the Law Journal Library under Browse Databases by Name, then click the Most-Cited link.

You will be offered a variety of options (see red arrow in the screenshot above) for browsing by author, article, or journal. The first three options provide a top 100 list.

Once you access your HeinOnline author profile, you can download a CSV spreadsheet of all the metrics for your publications. You'll find the CSV button immediately above the first publication listed in your profile.

Using MyHein Accounts to Enhance Your Author Profile

• Your default profile can be enhanced to include a photo; biographical information; links to your SSRN or Google Scholar profile pages; and social media accounts like X and LinkedIn. Click here for an example.
• Use the bell symbol to set up alerts so you can be notified when a new article is uploaded that cites one of your articles.
• Create a MyHein account so you can edit your own profile, or send desired changes to Rebecca Lutkenhaus, who is authorized to make changes for all Drake affiliated authors.
• The MyHein User Guide provides lots of helpful information, including how to create an account, re-set your password, and use MyHein features. Note that you can use MyHein as a research tool as well as a way to manage your author profile.

Altmetric is a tool that tracks where published research is mentioned on websites, blogs, social media, and more, to assess the societal impact of scholarly works. This tool is now integrated into HeinOnline, but the Altmetric badge will only appear if the article includes a digital object identifier (DOI) and at least 1 metric from an outside online source.

ORCID provides a unique, persistent identifier to distinguish researchers and allow them to showcase their research outputs and activities. You can integrate your ORCID identifier into your HeinOnline Author Profile. Once you have, you can quickly send works from Hein to ORCID with a click of a button.

Source: All screenshots on this page created by Drake Law Library.