LibGuides: International Human Rights: Websites

Laws & Treaties

National Implementation of International Humanitarian Law Database
This database from the International Committee of the Red Cross provides full text access to documentation and commentaries concerning the implementation of international humanitarian law at the national level through laws, regulations, and case law.
Treaties, States Parties and Commentaries
The International Committee of the Red Cross maintains this database providing full text access to 100 treaties, the current status of signatures, ratifications, accessions, and successions to the treaties, and commentaries to the 1949 Geneva Conventions and their 1977 Protocols. Treaties can be accessed by topic, year of adoption, or state using the search feature at the top of the page.
Customary International Humanitarian Law Database
Resulting from a study conducted by the International Committee of the Red Cross, this database provides an analysis of existing customary rules of international humanitarian law. The database updates the practice section of the print version, which can be found in the library at KZ6471 .C87 2005.

World Constitutions Illustrated This link opens in a new window
Includes the current constitution for every country in its original language and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for many countries. It also includes constitutional periodicals, nearly 2,000 classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.

African Court on Human and People's Rights
Provides access to the African Court Law Report and court's latest judgments as well as the African Human Rights Yearbook.
European Court of Human Rights
Judgments and decisions of the court, as well as information about court processes and case summaries.
Jurisprudence of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights
An AI powered search tool for finding decisions, advisory opinions, provisional measures, and to monitor compliance with judgments. Maintained by the Inter-American Court of Human Rights.
Inter-American Court of Human Rights Project
This database from Loyola Los Angeles allows users to search Inter-American Court decisions by case name, country, topic, or violation.
Human Rights Library
The University of Minnesota maintains this library of full text treaties, UN documents, research materials, bibliographies, research guides, asylum resources, and more.
Universal Human Rights Index
This source facilitates access to human rights recommendations issued by the United Nations’ Treaty Bodies, the Special Procedures, and the Universal Periodic Review (UPR) of the Human Rights Council. A variety of search options are available. See http://uhri.ohchr.org/about for details.
U.S. Dept. of State - Human Rights Reports
The State Department issues reports on human rights practices to "raise awareness of the progress made, the ground lost, and the work that remains."

Guides on specific areas of law may suggest starting points for formulating and researching a topic. Good starting points include:

International Human Rights Guide (American Society of International Law)
This very thorough guide offers many resources and hints for international human rights research. It is old (from 2013), but still has good tips.
Human Rights Law
From Georgetown Law Library.
Human Rights
From Oxford University's Bodleian Libraries.
Researching International Human Rights (GlobaLex)
Comparative Constitutional Law (Drake Law Library)
International, Foreign, and Comparative Law (Drake Law Library)
GlobaLex
Choose the Foreign Law Research link and then select a country.