LibGuides: Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility: Rules

Overview

All states other than California have adopted rules of professional conduct based upon the model rules of the ABA (or its predecessor, the model code). State adoptions sometimes include modifications from the model. California's rules are influenced by the model rules.

In addition to the ABA's model rules, the American Legal Institute (ALI) has a Restatement of the Law Governing Lawyers. To access the text of the Restatement, look at the "Restatements" tab on this guide.

ABA Comparison Chart of Model Rules and ALI Restatement
This chart shows the equivalent rule or section number between the two sets of professional responsibility guidelines. It shows the ABA model rule number and then states the equivalent Restatement section. For the inverse chart (i.e., starts with the ALI section and then lists the related model rule), you can look here.

Model Rules

ABA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct (Bloomberg Law) This link opens in a new window
Provides news and analysis relating to attorney conduct and legal ethics. It includes full text access to ABA and state ethics opinions and the ABA model rules and standards. Available only to Drake Law affiliated users with a registered bloomberglaw.com account.

ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct
Link connects to ABA site with full text available.
Library location: Reserve KF306 .A7614 (older editions in stacks)
Annotated Model Rules of Professional Conduct
Library location: Reserve KF305 .A26 (older editions in stacks)
ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct
Link connects to ABA site with full text available.
Library location: Reserve KF8779 .A74 (older editions in stacks)
ABA Annotated Model Code of Judicial Conduct
Library location: Reserve KF8779 .A75 2016 (older editions in stacks)

ABA Compendium of Professional Responsibility Rules and Standards by Center for Professional Responsibility, ABA
Call Number: Law Library Reserve KF305 .A2 (older editions in stacks)

Legal Ethics: The Lawyers' Deskbook on Professional Responsibility
After background information on legal ethics, the book is organized around the model rules. It provides the rule, comments and historical notes, followed by analysis of the rule with references to primary law.

Iowa Rules

The Iowa Rules of Professional Conduct are located in chapter 32 of the Iowa Court Rules. Sources include:

Iowa Court Rules
From the Iowa Legislature's website.
Iowa Code Annotated
Library location for print: Ready Reference, Iowa Wing, or Lower Level KFI4230 1949 .A42
See volume 57J

Iowa Rules of Court
Call Number: Law Library Information Desk, Ready Reference, and Iowa Wing KFI4729 .A194

Other States

To find and understand rules from other states, try identifying resources by using a research guide or database that compiles state legal ethics sources.

Additional Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility Resources
Compiled by the ABA, this list links to the rules of professional conduct, ethics opinions, and related information in various states.
The Thomas Woodward Houghton 50 State Ethics Guide
Links to ABA and state ethics materials, including rules and ethics opinions.
From Tarlton Law Library (University of Texas)
Bloomberg Law Professional Responsibility Practice Center
The Bloomberg Law Professional Responsibility Practice Center provides a variety of resources, including an "All States Ethics Resources" search box and a U.S. map that allows you click on the state you want and see all of Bloomberg's legal ethics sources for that state.
Lexis Legal Ethics Practice Area
The Lexis Legal Ethics practice area provides multi-jurisdiction primary and secondary source compilations, including statutes and court rules.
Westlaw Statutes and Court Rules
From the main statutes and court rules page in Westlaw, click on the name of the state you want. Then, search that state's statutes and court rules all together or select only certain content to search.

Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility: Rules

Overview

Model Rules

Iowa Rules

Other States

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2604 Forest Ave. • Des Moines, Iowa 50311-3014