Agricultural Law Resources: Government & Organizations

FAO's goal is to "achieve food security for all and make sure that people have regular access to enough high-quality food to lead active, healthy lives."

The site contains news, research, and more. Includes information on Laws and Regulations.

Part of the USDA. Access AGRICOLA (a catalog and article citation database), program areas, an agricultural thesaurus, and a link to ask a reference librarian a question.

Regulatory information and a variety of other resources related to U.S. agriculture, including the A-Z Agriculture Resources list.

Non-governmental association that represents state departments of agriculture. The site includes policy briefings, news, reports, and advocacy letters.

Highlights include topical reading rooms with primary law links and research and reference sources, Congressional Research Service Reports related to agriculture and food, U.S. Farm Bills from 1933 to the present, and an extensive bibliography. At the University of Arkansas School of Law.

Includes information about AALA conferences and ag-related news. The library has the AALA newsletter (Agricultural Law Update) from 1988 to 2011.

News and other resources related to law and the agriculture and food industries.

Provides information about section events and publications, and access to podcasts, webinars, and coverage about significant cases.

Their goals is to "save the land that sustains us by protecting farmland, promoting sound farming practices, and keeping farmers on the land."

Public policy and economic research on agricultural, environmental, and food issues. Affiliated with Iowa State University.

Information on laws, taxation, crop insurance, prices, and weather to assist farmers in managing risk. From the University of Illinois.

Nonprofit law center. Focuses include: credit, preservation, advocacy, discrimination in agriculture, risk management, food safety, and biotechnology.

Works on fair and sustainable food, farm, and trade systems. The site includes news, publications, and other information.

News and information on agricultural, natural resource, and yard and garden topics as well as a directory of field specialists.

Focuses on education, research, and the provision of grants to attain cleaner water, greater conservation of natural resources, and increased agricultural vitality.

This organization "offers farmer-driven, grassroots grants and education programs." Publications may be searched and downloaded for free.

Focuses on access to agricultural information by connecting librarians and those working in agriculture.

"A national forum for the exchange of timely information among aquaculture researchers, students and industry members in the United States."