LibGuides: Agricultural Law Resources: Databases

Databases

The following databases provide subject-specific information. Also, see other databases available through the Law Library and Cowles Library.

FAOLex This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture and renewable natural resources. From UN Food and Agriculture Organization.
AGRIS This link opens in a new window
Includes extension literature back to the 1970s from around 150 countries. Includes agriculture, forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citation databases, which allow you to identify articles that have cited to your article, and therefore relate to the same topics. Coverage includes the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities back to 1900. For instruction, see quick reference card, usage videos or ask a reference librarian for assistance.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) This link opens in a new window
A database focused on issues relating to the environment. Its coverage extends to news, case studies, videos, and academic journals. (Partial coverage in SuperSearch.)
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window
Content covers a variety of subject areas, including economics, environment, foreign affairs, immigration, medicine, civil rights, national security, terrorism and more.

CRS Reports by Category
Browse by category from the National Agricultural Law Center.
EveryCRSReport.com
No-charge access to all Congressional Research Service reports available on Congress’s internal website. Analyst contact information is redacted. A partnership of Demand Progress and the Congressional Data Coalition.

National Survey of State Laws This link opens in a new window
Provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. Topics include animal welfare, food laws, and select others.
Subject Compilations of State Laws This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, 50-state surveys, websites and other resources that compare state laws. Topics include agricultural cooperatives, agricultural districts, agricultural product disparagement, agriculture, animals, biotechnology, climate change, conservation, environment, environmental protection, family farms, farm products, farmland, farms and farming, fish and fisheries, foods, food, food stamps, margarine, milk, packaging and labeling, pesticides, plants, public health, public lands, taxation, trade regulation, water law, and many more.