LibGuides: International, Foreign, and Comparative Law: Books & Articles

Finding Articles

Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,530 law and law-related periodicals.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Retrospective (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Legal Periodicals indexes 1000+ journals from 1981-date. Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides index coverage from 1908-1981 to more than 750 journals. (Partial SuperSearch coverage.)
EBSCO Help Guides
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 2,800 peer-reviewed journals. (Partial SuperSearch coverage.)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text of scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.

Law Reviews and Journals
Coverage varies by title but typically begins in the 1980s.
Journals and Law Reviews
Coverage varies by title but typically begins in the 1980s.
Legal Resource Index
1980-current. Search more than 700 journals by author, subject, case name, or statute name.
Index to Periodical Articles Related to Law
1958-2007. HeinOnline provides PDF images of this print index that contains citations to law-related, English-language articles published worldwide. It includes items deemed to be of research value that are not included in other indexes such as the Legal Resource Index.
Google Scholar
Allows you to search against the scholarly literature of a wide variety of disciplines. It includes sources such as articles, working papers, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions. Click on more to see how Drake library holdings and Google Scholar records can be linked.
more...less...
If you’re on campus, Google Scholar should automatically show you “Full Text @ Drake” links for our holdings. If you’re off campus, you can go into Google Scholar settings and select Drake University as one of your Library Links, which will set a cookie that will automatically show you the links no matter where you are.

After you click on settings at Google Scholar, click library links on the left and select Drake.

Remember that this will give you direct links to many things we have, but not everything. One of the biggest sources that will be missing is Lexis. If you find a cite that is not linked, feel free to ask a librarian if we have it in full text.

International Law Journals

These are some of the significant titles in International & Comparative Law. For a more comprehensive journal search, consult the indexes mentioned on this page.

American Journal of Comparative Law
Quarterly journal dedicated to comparative law.
1952-2011 also in Law Library Bound Periodicals.
American Journal of International Law
Focusing on international law and international relations, this is the most cited scholarly journal in the field.
1907-2011 also in Law Library Bound Periodicals.
Boston College International and Comparative Law Review
Focusing on International Law, this journal also publishes an annual survey of European Union law.
1979-2011 also available in Law Library Bound Periodicals.
Columbia Journal of Transnational Law
Dedicated to issues of international law, this is one of the major international legal periodicals. It has been cited by the U.S. Supreme Court and numerous federal appellate and trial courts.
1964-2011 also available in Law Library Bound Periodicals.
Duke Journal of Comparative & International Law
Devoted exclusively to the issues of comparative and international law.
1991-2011 also available in Law Library Bound Periodicals.
Harvard International Law Journal
Publishes articles on international, comparative, and foreign law, the role of international law in U.S. courts, and the international ramifications of U.S. domestic law.
1967-2011 also available in Law Library Bound Periodicals.
Hastings International and Comparative Law Review
Provides a forum for exchanging ideas on public and private international law.
1979-2011 also available in Law Library Bound Periodicals.
Virginia Journal of International Law
Devoted exclusively to public and private international law.
1963-2012 also available in Law Library Bound Periodicals.
Yale Journal of International Law
Covers international, transnational, and comparative law.
1984-2011 also available in Law Library Bound Periodicals.

SuperSearch Subject Headings

Click on the links below to conduct a search for that subject in SuperSearch, the Drake Libraries catalog.

In addition to these few, general subjects of interest, other searches may include:

a subject search for the word "law" and the country of interest
searching for the word "international" and the area of law of interest (e.g. criminal)

Separate suggested subject headings are also available for the following:

International Human Rights

Introductory Books

To search for additional sources in the Drake Law Library catalog, please consult SuperSearch.

Additional book suggestions are also included under the Foreign Starting Points and Int'l Starting Points tabs.

Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law by James Crawford
Call Number: Law Library Reserve KZ3225.B76 A37 (older editions in the stacks)
Previous editions in the stacks have the title Principals of Public International Law.
International Law by Mark W. Janis
Call Number: Law Library Reserve KZ3140.J36 A35 (older editions in stacks)
International Law by Malcolm N. Shaw
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KZ3275.S4 A35
International Law: A Critical Introduction by Wade Mansell & Karen Openshaw
Call Number: Law Library Stacks KZ3410 .M36 2013
Comparative Legal Traditions in a Nutshell by Mary Ann Glendon, Paolo Carozza & Colin Picker
Call Number: Law Library Stacks K560 .G43

International, Foreign, and Comparative Law: Books & Articles

SuperSearch

Finding Articles

International Law Journals

SuperSearch Subject Headings

Introductory Books

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2604 Forest Ave. • Des Moines, Iowa 50311-3014