Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find articles, books, and more
(Note: additional content available in other databases.)
SuperSearch provides access to many full-text online materials and all of the Drake libraries print holdings. For print materials, SuperSearch indicates whether Law or Cowles owns an item, its location and call number, and if it is checked out or on the shelf.
Search for journal articles from the main or advanced interface or by clicking the Journal Finder link.
See the library's SuperSearch guide for instructions and tips, including how to find an article by citation.
Indexes vs. Full Text Searching
Searching for Articles in Legal Publications
Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text and Retrospective (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Because it provides coverage back to 1908, this is the best source for finding older articles that provide historical perspective, but it will also alert you to recent articles on your topic. For some articles only a citation will be provided, but it does include many full text articles.
EBSCO Help Guides
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
Legal News Sources
U.S. Law Week
Identifies and summarizes significant cases and other legal developments across the country. Includes coverage of circuit splits.
Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law provides news and analysis on a variety of topics.
Searching for Articles from Other Disciplines
Ethnic News Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, magazines, and journals from various ethnic and minority presses.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Gender Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the world’s leading citation databases, including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. For instruction, see usage videos
or ask a reference librarian for assistance. (Partial coverage in SuperSearch.)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 2,800 peer-reviewed journals. (Partial SuperSearch coverage.)
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text of scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.
Searching for News Articles
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, television and radio news transcripts.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source material such as case law, statutes and regulations. Shepard's Citations for the federal and state level are available. Secondary source materials such as legal news or law reviews are available. This database also provides access to business and news publications.
Nexis Uni Help Guide
Des Moines Register (full-text version) This link opens in a new window
Iowa's largest and most influential newspaper, focusing on Des Moines and its suburbs with news coverage including regional, national, and international issues and events. Coverage: 11/27/2002 - date.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Drake University Law Library • 2604 Forest Ave. • Des Moines, Iowa 50311-3014