Comparative Constitutional Law: Websites

Offers access to relevant publication by affiliated scholars. Collects data on the formal characteristics of written constitutions, both current and historical, for most independent states since 1789. Note: You must provide your contact details to download data. This data is used in Constitute (linked below), and that might be an easier starting point.

Retrieve the full text of a country's constitution or search for constitutions that contain passages relating to a specific subject. Part of the Comparative Constitutions Project.

Includes country profiles, analysis, news, handbooks, and draft constitutions, as well as access to the publication A Practical Guide to Constitution Building.

Contains links to constitutional documents from around the world.

Classifies constitutions by form of state, form of government, control of constitutionality, and voting systems/other methods of composition of parliamentary bodies.

The study "compares the constitutions of countries in the Americas with presidential regimes...it provides a set of constitutional articles in a comparative framework organized by over 200 substantive themes such as human rights, decentralization, separation of powers and electoral systems." The site also offers a bibliography of reference materials on constitutional law in the Americas. Note: The site does not appear to have been updated in the last decade.

Assesses where countries fall on a regime authority spectrum. Link at the bottom takes you to Polity IV Individual Country Regime Trends, 1946-2013.

Access maps and other data based on the center's analysis of "the civil, political, social, economic, and equal rights in the constitutions of all 193 UN member states." Looks at "over 50 specific constitutional rights across a range of areas, performing a comprehensive analysis of constitutional protections of equality and non-discrimination, as well as other rights that matter to achieving equality, across race/ethnicity, citizenship status, statelessness, disability, language, religion, physical disability, intellectual disability or mental health condition, sex/gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, and socio-economic status."

Includes facts about the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries worldwide.

A research aid for asylum cases, the European Country of Origin Information Network (ECOI) includes an array of information about each covered country (171 at last check). Sources relate to the country's political/legal systems and human-rights-related issues. Select your country using the top menu/search box. Once that page opens, click on the tab of interest, including Important Documents, Country Profiles, and Law Guide.

This GlobaLex article by Julienne E. Grant lists a variety of resources to assist you with comparative constitutional law research.

Includes guides on various topics relating to international, comparative, and foreign law research.