Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SuperSearch: Finding Materials in the Library

Using SuperSearch to Find Library Shelf Locations

All items in the library's physical collection are included in SuperSearch. To find them, you want to note the library, location, and call number, as explained below.

The item view from your search results page provides some basic information, including the location of one of the library's copies.

SuperSearch record indicating And other locations

If the library has more than one copy, or the item is at both the Cowles Library and the Law Library, the location section will include "and other locations." Learn more by clicking on the item title to bring up the detailed record, partially shown below.

Getting Complete Library Location Information Under the heading "Locations," you will see location information for each copy of the item the Drake libraries own. You want to note three pieces of information:

  1. The name of the library, either Law Library, as shown above, or Cowles Library.
  2. The collection location. 
  3. The Library of Congress call number. 

To know where to look for the item, be sure to note all three pieces of information, including the complete call number.

For Law Library items, there will be a Locate link on the left. When you click Locate, this guide opens to the Law Library Locations and Call Numbers box below this one. It will open near the right collection for the item you are viewing. This helps you find the item in the library. For instance, the annotated item above is in the Information Desk collection, so the guide would open to Information Desk, describing the location of that collection. 

One library collection, Stacks, can be found on more than one floor of the library, and this specifies the Stacks call number ranges found on each floor.

Finally, note that at the time this screenshot was taken, these books should have been on the shelf. This is indicated by the word Available, directly under the library name. If it was checked out, that would say Unavailable. For materials that can be checked out and taken out of the library, you can log in and request a hold on unavailable materials.
 

Law Library Locations and Call Numbers

Go to the right Law Library collection location and then find the item by call number or alphabetically.

Bound Periodicals: East side of the second floor. Shelved alphabetically from south to north.

Compact Shelving: Storage location on the lower level. Ask staff for assistance.

Government Documents: Lower level shelf sections L-8 through L-18. More government documents are available on microform. 

Index Shelving: Shelving east of the reference shelves/printers on the first floor that contains the Restatements (shelved alphabetically).

Information Desk: Just inside main library doors on the first floor. Request desired volumes from Information Desk staff for two-hour, in-library loan.

Iowa Reference: Either side of the first table in the Iowa Wing on the second floor. Shelved by call number.

Iowa Wing: West side of the second floor where call numbers KFI 4200 to 4799 are shelved. Shelf section numbers in the Iowa Wing are preceded by a capital "I" (e.g. I-4). Shelved by call number.

Library Lobby: DVD shelving by the east windows just inside the main library doors on the first floor.

Lower Level: Lower level shelf sections L 1-8.

Microform Room: Microfilm/microfiche are housed in lower level room LL03.

On Display: Currently in one of the library's displays, but typically still available to check out. Ask at the Information Desk for assistance.

Ready Reference: Library lobby, opposite the Information Desk on the first floor.

Reference: By copiers/printers on the first floor, on the shelves immediately to the south of the numbered shelves.

Reserve Room: Behind the Information Desk, just inside the main library doors on the first floor. Request desired volumes from Information Desk staff for two-hour, in-library loan.

Stacks: Shelves on first through third floors that are not part of a special collection area. The stacks are organized from south (closest to Information Desk) to north on each floor. Call numbers with a location of Stacks, Tax Room, Iowa Reference, or Iowa Wing can be found on the following floors:


Tax Room: Octagonal room at west end of the Iowa wing on the second floor where call numbers KF 6200 to KF 6999 are shelved.

Library Maps and Locator Guide

The four levels of the library are designated as lower level (LL), first floor (1), second floor (2), and third floor (3). Print maps of the Law Library are available in the literature rack in the library lobby and posted on each floor, near the stairs. 
 

The Library Locator Guide (PDF), available in print in the literature rack, lists major titles and their locations.

Government Depository

  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents.

  Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
 

Law Library Web Site · Locator Guide & Maps · Hours · Interlibrary Loan · Ask A Librarian

Drake University Law Library • 2604 Forest Ave. • Des Moines, Iowa 50311-3014